Books

Here you’ll find all of our wonderful historical fiction and non-fiction books. Use the filters on the right to find the corner of history you’re looking for. Choose the period, genre or history tag that’s most relevant to display books in that category.

Explore H for History

Clear filter

Fiction

The Irregular: A Different Class of Spy

H.B. Lyle

As a boy, he spied for Sherlock Holmes. As a man, he must save the Empire. London 1909: The British Empire seems invulnerable. But Captain Vernon Kell, head of counter-intelligence at the War Office, knows better. In Russia, revolution; in…

read more…

Fiction

Persephone

Julian Stockwin

Unputdownable naval action from the master of the sea story – Julian Stockwin returns with the next installment of action from Captain Sir Thomas Kydd. November 1807. Captain Sir Thomas Kydd must sail to Lisbon to aid the Portuguese Royal F…

read more…

Fiction

The Third Nero

Lindsey Davis

Flavia Albia's day-old marriage is in trouble – her new husband may be permanently disabled and they have no funds. So when Palace officials ask her to help expose a plotter in their midst she is obliged to accept their commission. The…

read more…

Fiction

Beyond the Wild River

Sarah Maine

From the author of The House Between Tides, comes an atmospheric and stunningly evocative historical novel. Perfect for fans of Sarah Perry's The Essex Serpent. 'Maine writes beautifully' THE TIMES Scotland,1893. Nineteen-year-o…

read more…

Non-fiction

The Universe Next Door

New Scientist

It's lucky you're here. But for a series of choices, accidents and coincidences – any of which could have gone otherwise – your life would have been very different. The same goes for reality. We live in just one of many possible wor…

read more…

Non-fiction

Martin Luther

Peter Stanford

'A compelling biography of one of the greatest men of the modern age. Stanford is particularly brilliant on the tensions inside Luther's private and spiritual life. This is a very fine book, written with a flourish.' Melvyn Brag…

read more…

Non-fiction

Dent's Modern Tribes

Susie Dent

Did you know that . . . a soldier's biggest social blunder is called jack brew – making yourself a cuppa without making one for anyone else? That twitchers have an expression for a bird that can't be identified – LBJ (the letters st…

read more…

Fiction

Onslaught: The Centurions II

Anthony Riches

The author of the bestselling Empire sequence continues his new trilogy: the epic story of the uprising of the Batavi in AD 69. The Rhine frontier has exploded into all-out war. The Batavi cohorts, so recently proud soldiers of Rome, have r…

read more…

Fiction

Betrayal: The Centurions I

Anthony Riches

AD 69: The Rhine frontier has exploded into bloody rebellion, and four centurions who once fought in the same army find themselves on opposite sides of a vicious insurrection. The rebel leader Kivilaz and his Batavi rebels have humbled the…

read more…

Fiction

The Zealot's Bones

D.M. Mark

From Hell, Hull and Halifax, may the Good Lord deliver us. In 1849, Hull is a city forgotten and abandoned; in the grip of a cholera outbreak that sees its poorest citizens cut down by the cartload. Into this world of flame and grief comes…

read more…