Books

Here you’ll find all of our wonderful historical fiction and non-fiction books. Use the filters on the right to find the corner of history you’re looking for. Choose the period, genre or history tag that’s most relevant to display books in that category.

Explore H for History

Clear filter

Fiction

The Jack Lark Library

Paul Fraser Collard

From gin palace pot boy to a young Private who wears his red coat with pride, The Jack Lark Library reveals the early years of Jack Lark: Soldier, Leader, Imposter. RASCAL: Jack finds himself witness to the execution of Mistress Manning, mu…

read more…

Non-fiction

Martin Luther

Peter Stanford

'A compelling biography of one of the greatest men of the modern age. Stanford is particularly brilliant on the tensions inside Luther's private and spiritual life. This is a very fine book, written with a flourish.' Melvyn Brag…

read more…

Non-fiction

The Private Lives of the Tudors

Tracy Borman

'Borman approaches her topic with huge enthusiasm and a keen eye for entertaining…this is a very human story of a remarkable family, full of vignettes that sit long in the mind.' Dan Jones, The Sunday Times 'Tracy Borman's…

read more…

Fiction

Betrayal: The Centurions I

Anthony Riches

Rome, AD 68. Nero has committed suicide. One hundred years of imperial rule by the descendants of Julius Caesar has ended, and chaos rules. His successor Galba dismisses the incorruptible Germans of the Imperial Bodyguard for the crime of l…

read more…

Fiction

The Earthly Gods

Nick Brown

Unable to make any progress in locating the missing Indavara, a desperate Cassius has been given an unrewarding assignment in Antioch. But when an old ally's daughter is kidnapped, he feels duty-bound to repay a long standing debt. Disi…

read more…

Fiction

The Blackened Heart

Alison Weir

The Blackened Heart by foremost and beloved historian Alison Weir is an e-short and companion piece that bridges the first two novels in the Six Tudor Queens series, Katherine of Aragon and Anne Boleyn. Fans of Philippa Gregory and Elizabet…

read more…

Non-fiction

Under the Bearskin

Mark Evans, Andrew Sharples

'A fast-paced, thrilling account of British heroism, brave men surrounded and fighting against overwhelming odds. This is the real, sometimes shocking, and deeply personal story of modern warfare and PTSD.' Andy McNab 'This huge…

read more…

Fiction

Dandy Gilver and a Most Misleading Habit

Catriona McPherson

A cosy Dandy Gilver mystery set in 1930s Scotland. For fans of PG Wodehouse, Alexander McCall Smith and Agatha Christie. 'The perfect read for those who enjoy the bygoneworld charm of Nancy Mitford, Evelyn Waugh and Agatha Christie….

read more…

Fiction

The Fatal Tree

Jake Arnott

Newgate Gaol, 1726. An anonymous writer sets down the words of Edgworth Bess as she confides the adventures and misfortunes that led her all too soon to the judgement of London: Cruelly deceived, Bess is cast out onto the streets of the wic…

read more…

Fiction

Second Lives

Scott K. Andrews

It began when three people from three different moments in history discovered that they could travel through time when they clasped hands. But the mysteries surrounding them have only deepened. There are risks to tampering with established…

read more…