Books

Here you’ll find all of our wonderful historical fiction and non-fiction books. Use the filters on the right to find the corner of history you’re looking for. Choose the period, genre or history tag that’s most relevant to display books in that category.

Explore H for History

Clear filter

Fiction

The Fatal Tree

Jake Arnott

Newgate Gaol, 1726. An anonymous writer sets down the words of Edgworth Bess as she confides the adventures and misfortunes that led her all too soon to the judgement of London: Cruelly deceived, Bess is cast out onto the streets of the wic…

read more…

Fiction

The Words In My Hand

Guinevere Glasfurd

Shortlisted for the Costa First Novel Award 2016 Shortlisted for the Authors' Club Best First Novel Award 2017 'Excellent… an entirely unsentimental love story with a memorable and engaging heroine. Clever and touching' The Ti…

read more…

Fiction

Moonstone: The Boy Who Never Was

Sjón

Winner of the Icelandic Literary Prize 'An extraordinary and original writer' A.S. Byatt on Sjón Reykjavik, 1918. The eruptions of the Katla volcano darken the sky night and day. Yet despite the natural disaster, the shortage of coa…

read more…

Fiction

The 14th Colony

Steve Berry

The electrifying new Cotton Malone thriller by international bestseller Steve Berry. People say the Cold War is coming back. For some, it never went away. Shot down over Siberia in what was to be a simple meet-and-greet mission, ex-Justice…

read more…

Fiction

Mister Memory

Marcus Sedgwick

A dazzling literary mystery from prizewinning author Marcus Sedgwick, for fans of Scarlett Thomas, Carlos Ruiz Zafon and Patrick Suskind. In Paris, in the year 1899, Marcel Després is arrested for the murder of his wife and transferred to S…

read more…

Non-fiction

Street of Eternal Happiness

Rob Schmitz

'Enjoyable and illuminating . . . Rob Schmitz writes with great affection' Guardian Shanghai: a global city in the midst of a renaissance, where dreamers arrive each day to partake in a mad torrent of capital, ideas and opportunity….

read more…

Fiction

Everyone Brave is Forgiven

Chris Cleave

An extraordinary tale of love and honour in extreme circumstances, from the multi-award-winning author of THE OTHER HAND. When war is declared, Mary North leaves finishing school unfinished, goes straight to the War Office, and signs up. To…

read more…

Fiction

The Vatican Princess

C W Gortner

Infamy is no accident. It is a poison in our blood. It is the price of being a Borgia. Glamorous and predatory, the Borgias became Italy's most ruthless and powerful family, electrifying and terrorizing their 15th-century Renaissance wo…

read more…

Fiction

The Strange Last Voyage of Donald Crowhurst

Nicholas Tomalin, Ron Hall

Now a major motion picture starring Colin Firth and Rachel Weisz, directed by James Marsh (The Theory of Everything). In 1968, Donald Crowhurst was trying to market a nautical navigation device he had developed, and saw the Sunday Times Gol…

read more…

Fiction

The Cat of Yule Cottage

Lili Hayward

A magical tale of Christmas and cats, perfect for everyone who loves A Street Cat Named Bob and Alfie the Doorstep Cat. It's nearly Christmas, and Jessamine Pike needs a serious life overhaul. Jess moves into Enysyule, a centuries-old c…

read more…