Books

Here you’ll find all of our wonderful historical fiction and non-fiction books. Use the filters on the right to find the corner of history you’re looking for. Choose the period, genre or history tag that’s most relevant to display books in that category.

Explore H for History

Clear filter

Fiction

Georgia

Claire Lorrimer

An epic, deeply moving wartime novel from the bestselling romance author Claire Lorrimer, available in ebook and paperback for the first time. Georgia Driffield is passionate, wilful, resourceful, intelligent but often foolhardy, as she gro…

read more…

Non-fiction

Abducting a General

Patrick Leigh Fermor

A daring behind-enemy-lines mission from the author of A Time of Gifts and The Broken Road, who was once described by the BBC as 'a cross between Indiana Jones, James Bond and Graham Greene'. Although a story often told, this is the…

read more…

Non-fiction

Agincourt

Ranulph Fiennes

25 October 2015 is the 600th anniversary of the battle of Agincourt – a hugely resonant event in English (and French) history. Sir Ranulph Fiennes casts new light on this epic event, revealing that three of his own ancestors fought in the b…

read more…

Non-fiction

Imagination and a Pile of Junk

Trevor Norton

'In his whistle-stop tour of inventions large and small, the scientist Trevor Norton shares the Gershwins' view that invention is fundamentally comic.' The Sunday Times Trevor Norton, who has been compared to Gerard Durrell and…

read more…

Fiction

Fire and Sword (Wellington and Napoleon 3)

Simon Scarrow

FIRE AND SWORD is the unputdownable third novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling Wellington and Napoleon Quartet. A must read for fans of Robert Harris. 1804. Napoleon Bonaparte is Emperor of France, his ultimate aim: to rule Europe. Afte…

read more…

Fiction

If You Go Away

Adele Parks

Glamorous debutantes, heartbreak and discovering just what is worth fighting for in the new historical novel from Sunday Times bestseller Adele Parks. 1914. Vivian, a young, impassioned debutante is hurried into a pedestrian marriage to cov…

read more…

Fiction

Young Bloods (Wellington and Napoleon 1)

Simon Scarrow

YOUNG BLOODS is the first gripping novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling Wellington and Napoleon quartet. Perfect for fans of Robert Harris. Arthur Wesley (the future Duke of Wellington) was born and bred to be a leader. With a firm beli…

read more…

Fiction

The Last Confession of Thomas Hawkins

Antonia Hodgson

Spring, 1728. A young, well-dressed man is dragged through the streets of London to the gallows at Tyburn. The crowds jeer and curse as he passes, calling him a murderer. He tries to remain calm. His name is Tom Hawkins and he is innocent….

read more…

Non-fiction

God's Smuggler

Elizabeth Sherill, Brother Andrew, John Sherrill

With over ten million copies sold, God's Smuggler has thrilled and inspired readers for more than forty years. It tells the true story of how a young Dutchman risked his life to bring faith and hope to believers behind the Iron Curtain….

read more…

Fiction

Plague Land

S D Sykes

Oswald de Lacy was never meant to be the Lord of Somerhill Manor. Despatched to a monastery at the age of seven, sent back at seventeen when his father and two older brothers are killed by the Plague, Oswald has no experience of running an…

read more…