Books

Here you’ll find all of our wonderful historical fiction and non-fiction books. Use the filters on the right to find the corner of history you’re looking for. Choose the period, genre or history tag that’s most relevant to display books in that category.

Explore H for History

Clear filter

Fiction

The Fields of Death (Wellington and Napoleon 4)

Simon Scarrow

THE FIELDS OF DEATH is the epic final novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling Wellington and Napoleon Quartet. Essential reading for fans of Bernard Cornwell. 1809. Viscount Wellington and Emperor Napoleon Bonaparte have made their mark as…

read more…

Fiction

Church of Marvels

Leslie Parry

'A SKILLFUL TRIUMPH' Jessie Burton, bestselling author of The Miniaturist – 'IRRESISTIBLE' Emma Donoghue, bestselling author of Room New York, 1895. It's late on a warm city night when Sylvan Threadgill, a young night so…

read more…

Non-fiction

Abducting a General

Patrick Leigh Fermor

A daring behind-enemy-lines mission from the author of A Time of Gifts and The Broken Road, who was once described by the BBC as 'a cross between Indiana Jones, James Bond and Graham Greene'. Although a story often told, this is the…

read more…

Fiction

Hearts of Stone

Simon Scarrow

The fierce courage of the men and women of the Greek Resistance is brought to vivid life in Sunday Times bestseller Simon Scarrow's powerful novel of World War II. 'Gripping… [a] moving narrative of friendships broken by war and b…

read more…

Non-fiction

Taking Command

David Richards

General Sir David Richards is one of the best known British generals of modern times. In 2013 he retired after over forty years of service in the British Army and a career that had seen him rise from junior officer with 20 Commando to Chief…

read more…

Fiction

The Emperor's Silver

Nick Brown

Still recovering from his previous assignment in Arabia, imperial agent Cassius Corbulo has been spending most of his time and money on women and wine. Unfortunately for him, word of his achievements has reached the emperor Aurelian's d…

read more…

Non-fiction

Agincourt

Ranulph Fiennes

25 October 2015 was the 600th anniversary of the battle of Agincourt – a hugely resonant event in English (and French) history. Sir Ranulph Fiennes casts new light on this epic event, revealing that three of his own ancestors fought in the…

read more…

Fiction

Young Bloods (Wellington and Napoleon 1)

Simon Scarrow

YOUNG BLOODS is the first gripping novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling Wellington and Napoleon quartet. Perfect for fans of Robert Harris. Arthur Wesley (the future Duke of Wellington) was born and bred to be a leader. With a firm beli…

read more…

Non-fiction

Peg Plunkett

Julie Peakman

'Of picking, washing and cleaning my pretty little toes, which he took great delight in, and in which pleasurable, innocent, and inoffensive pastime he as often spent hours; 'twas the greatest gratification to him on earth, nor did…

read more…

Non-fiction

No Better Friend

Robert Weintraub

An extraordinary tale of the remarkable bond between one man and his dog during the Second World War. The two friends huddled close together, each of them the other's saving grace in a world gone to hell . . . There was nothing terribly…

read more…