Books

Here you’ll find all of our wonderful historical fiction and non-fiction books. Use the filters on the right to find the corner of history you’re looking for. Choose the period, genre or history tag that’s most relevant to display books in that category.

Explore H for History

Clear filter

Non-fiction

The Gestapo

Frank McDonough

A Daily Telegraph 'Book of the Week' (August 2015) Longlisted for 2016 PEN Hessell-Tiltman Prize Ranked in 100 Best Books of 2015 in the Daily Telegraph Professor Frank McDonough is one of the leading scholars and most popular write…

read more…

Fiction

Skin

Ilka Tampke

'A visceral tale of ritual, magic and violence' – The Sunday Times Imagine a world where everyone is born with a 'skin' name. Without skin you cannot learn, you are not permitted to marry, and you grow up an outsider amongst…

read more…

Non-fiction

Edith Cavell

Diana Souhami

Edith Cavell was born on 4th December 1865, daughter of the vicar of Swardeston in Norfolk, and shot in Brussels on 12th October 1915 by the Germans for sheltering British and French soldiers and helping them escape over the Belgian border….

read more…

Fiction

The Protector

S.J. Deas

Autumn,1646. The First Civil War is over, and England licks its wounds. But the killing is not yet done. William Falkland, former favourite of King Charles turned reluctant investigator for Oliver Cromwell, seeks his missing family. Time an…

read more…

Fiction

Mathew's Tale

Quintin Jardine

In this, his landmark fortieth novel, Quintin Jardine tells the remarkable story of a man's quest for justice – at any cost. 1818, Carluke, Lanarkshire. Mathew Fleming returns home to Scotland following heroic service at the Battle of W…

read more…

Non-fiction

Lucky Johnny

Johnny Sherwood

In 1938 Johnny Sherwood was a young professional footballer on the brink of an England career, touring the world with the all-star British team the Islington Corinthians. By 1942 he was a soldier surrendering to the Japanese at the siege of…

read more…

Fiction

A Time to Remember

Anna Jacobs

The first book in a heartwarming new Lancashire-based series by beloved and bestselling saga writer Anna Jacobs, set at the end of World War Two. 1945 – the war in Europe is over. It should be a time of utter joy and celebration. Most women…

read more…

Fiction

The Madagaskar Plan

Guy Saville

A brilliant “what if” novel of the years after WW2 for fans of The Man in the High Castle. 1953. Britain and her Empire are diminished. Nazi Germany controls Europe and a vast African territory. There has been no Holocaust. Instead, the Jew…

read more…

Fiction

Kit

Marina Fiorato

An unforgettable historical romance based on an astonishing true story from international bestseller Mariano Fiorato – perfect for fans of Poldark and The Scandalous Lady W. Dublin 1702. Irish beauty Kit Kavanagh has everything she could wa…

read more…

Fiction

Marston Moor

Michael Arnold

The Sixth in The Civil War Chronicles featuring Major Stryker – 'the Sharpe of the Civil War' FIVE ARMIES FORTY-SIX THOUSAND MEN ONE CROWN THE BIGGEST BATTLE OF THE AGE 2 July 1644. Five armies converge outside York. It will be a ba…

read more…