Books

Here you’ll find all of our wonderful historical fiction and non-fiction books. Use the filters on the right to find the corner of history you’re looking for. Choose the period, genre or history tag that’s most relevant to display books in that category.

Explore H for History

Clear filter

Non-fiction

Four Princes

John Julius Norwich

'Never before had the world seen four such giants co-existing. Sometimes friends, more often enemies, always rivals, these four men together held Europe in the hollow of their hands.' Four great princes – Henry VIII of England, Fran…

read more…

Non-fiction

2020

Paul Cornish, Kingsley Donaldson

'A timely and cogent reminder that history never ends and is about to be made' – Tim Marshall, author of Prisoners of Geography With the world already struggling to contain conflicts on several continents, with security and defence…

read more…

Fiction

There Was a Time

Frank White

From an author who lived through – and served in – the conflict, a brilliant novel set in an English village at a turning point of the Second World War. A Lincolnshire village on a glorious summer's morning in 1940, the countryside as s…

read more…

Fiction

The Fortunes

Peter Ho Davies

Ah Ling: son of a prostitute and a white 'ghost', dispatched from Hong Kong as a boy to make his way alone in 1860s California. Anna Mae Wong: the first Chinese film star in Hollywood, forbidden to kiss a white man on screen. Vincen…

read more…

Non-fiction

Of Fortunes and War

Patrick Garrett

'Unputdownable' Alexander McCall Smith 'One of the most unforgettable journalists I have ever met' Chris Patten 'She was a pioneer' Kate Adie OBE A NEW EDITION WITH EXCLUSIVE PHOTOGRAPHS FROM THE CLARE HOLLINGWORTH F…

read more…

Non-fiction

Crash Bang Wallop

Iain Martin

Published to mark the 30th anniversary of the financial revolution known as 'Big Bang', Crash Bang Wallop will tell the gripping story of how the changes introduced in the 1980s in the City of London transformed our world. Attitudes…

read more…

Fiction

Crimson and Bone

Marina Fiorato

'A rich jewel of a story, full of desire and danger' – Julie Cohen. A dark tale of love and obsession, perfect for fans of The Crimson Petal and the White. London, 1853. Annie Stride has nothing left to live for – she is a penniless…

read more…

Non-fiction

Mr Darley's Arabian

Christopher McGrath

Shortlisted for the William Hill Sports Book of the Year Award In 1704 a bankrupt English merchant sent home the colt he had bought from Bedouin tribesmen near the ruins of Palmyra. Thomas Darley hoped this horse might be the ticket to a ne…

read more…

Non-fiction

Jane Austen at Home

Lucy Worsley

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER 'This is my kind of history: carefully researched but so vivid that you are convinced Lucy Worsley was actually there at the party – or the parsonage.' Antonia Fraser 'A refreshingly unique perspectiv…

read more…

Fiction

The Irregular: A Different Class of Spy

H.B. Lyle

'A thrilling story of espionage, murder and the creation of the Secret Service' Charles Cumming, author of A Colder War 'A flavoursome smorgasbord that features not only Holmes but also Winston Churchill, this is irresistible st…

read more…