Books

Here you’ll find all of our wonderful historical fiction and non-fiction books. Use the filters on the right to find the corner of history you’re looking for. Choose the period, genre or history tag that’s most relevant to display books in that category.

Explore H for History

Clear filter

Fiction

The New World

Scott K. Andrews

Kaz, Dora and Jana – three people from three different time periods, brought together by forces they don't understand, given powers they can barely comprehend. Their powers have brought them together. And nothing – not war, not betrayal…

read more…

Non-fiction

Leningrad

Michael Jones, Michael Jones

When the German High Command encircled Leningrad it was a deliberate policy to eradicate the city's civilian population by starving them to death. As winter set in and food supplies dwindled, starvation and panic set in. A specialist in…

read more…

Fiction

City of Masks

S D Sykes

Book 3 in the gripping Oswald de Lacy series, from ‘the medieval CJ Sansom’ (Jeffery Deaver) ‘Sophisticated plotting, intrigue, and immersion in a fascinating historical setting’ Library Journal 1358. Oswald de Lacy, Lord Somershill, is in…

read more…

Fiction

Dandy Gilver and a Spot of Toil and Trouble

Catriona McPherson

A cosy Dandy Gilver mystery set in 1930s Scotland. For fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie. 'A delightfully uplifting mystery with a distinctly P.G. Wodehouse-ian feel. Navigating ancient castles, and family feuds…

read more…

Non-fiction

Four Princes

John Julius Norwich

'Never before had the world seen four such giants co-existing. Sometimes friends, more often enemies, always rivals, these four men together held Europe in the hollow of their hands.' Four great princes – Henry VIII of England, Fran…

read more…

Non-fiction

The Traitors

Josh Ireland

'An epic tale of love, dishonour, bravery, cowardice, betrayal and high-treason. Beautifully written. A stunning debut' Damien Lewis Playboy. Fascist. Strongman. Thief. Traitors. September 1939. For years now Britain has been rudder…

read more…

Non-fiction

2020

Paul Cornish, Kingsley Donaldson

'A timely and cogent reminder that history never ends and is about to be made' – Tim Marshall, author of Prisoners of Geography 'This informed and expert book examines credible scenarios of what might happen, could happen and ho…

read more…

Fiction

There Was a Time

Frank White

From an author who lived through – and served in – the conflict, a brilliant novel set in an English village at a turning point of the Second World War. A Lincolnshire village on a glorious summer's morning in 1940, the countryside as s…

read more…

Non-fiction

Jo Cox

Brendan Cox

'Jo Cox's selfless service to others made the world a better place' Barack Obama, 44th President of the United States THE NUMBER 1 SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER 'A desperately tender account … part love story, part grief memoir…

read more…

Fiction

The Fortunes

Peter Ho Davies

Ah Ling: son of a prostitute and a white 'ghost', dispatched from Hong Kong as a boy to make his way alone in 1860s California. Anna Mae Wong: the first Chinese film star in Hollywood, forbidden to kiss a white man on screen. Vincen…

read more…