Books

Here you’ll find all of our wonderful historical fiction and non-fiction books. Use the filters on the right to find the corner of history you’re looking for. Choose the period, genre or history tag that’s most relevant to display books in that category.

Explore H for History

Clear filter

Non-fiction

Jane Austen at Home

Lucy Worsley

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER 'This is my kind of history: carefully researched but so vivid that you are convinced Lucy Worsley was actually there at the party – or the parsonage.' Antonia Fraser 'A refreshingly unique perspectiv…

read more…

Fiction

The Irregular: A Different Class of Spy

H.B. Lyle

'A thrilling story of espionage, murder and the creation of the Secret Service' Charles Cumming, author of A Colder War 'A flavoursome smorgasbord that features not only Holmes but also Winston Churchill, this is irresistible st…

read more…

Fiction

Persephone

Julian Stockwin

Unputdownable naval action from the master of the sea story – Julian Stockwin returns with the next installment of action from Captain Sir Thomas Kydd. November 1807. Captain Sir Thomas Kydd must sail to Lisbon to aid the Portuguese Royal F…

read more…

Non-fiction

50 Economics Classics

Tom Butler-Bowdon

'Something of a modern classic in its own right.' E&T magazine Economics drives the modern world and shapes our lives, but few of us feel we have time to engage with the breadth of ideas in the subject. 50 Economics Classics is the…

read more…

Fiction

The Wild Air

Rebecca Mascull

In Edwardian England, aeroplanes are a new, magical invention, while female pilots are rare indeed. When shy Della Dobbs meets her mother's aunt, her life changes forever. Great Auntie Betty has come home from Kitty Hawk, North Carolina…

read more…

Non-fiction

Katherine Howard

Josephine Wilkinson

'An impressive revisionist biography' The Times Looming out of the encroaching darkness of the February evening was London Bridge, still ornamented with the severed heads of Thomas Culpeper and Francis Dereham; the terrible price th…

read more…

Fiction

Night of Sorrows

Graham Hancock

Graham Hancock, an expert in ancient civilisations and author of the 9 million selling Fingerprints of the Gods, and expert too, on the use of hallucinogens to achieve higher states of consciousness, brings these two interests together in t…

read more…

Fiction

Beyond the Wild River

Sarah Maine

From the author of The House Between Tides comes a stunningly evocative historical novel, perfect for fans of The Essex Serpent. 'Beautifully told and quietly absorbing' – Kate Riordan Scotland,1893. Nineteen-year-old Evelyn Ballant…

read more…

Fiction

The American Girl

Rachael English

From a storyteller who combines the warmth of Maeve Binchy with the elegance of Maggie O'Farrell comes an unforgettable new novel . . . Boston 1968. Rose Moroney is seventeen, smart, spirited – and pregnant. She wants to marry her boyfr…

read more…

Fiction

Invictus

Simon Scarrow

It is AD 54. The soldiers of the Roman army patrol a growing Empire, from the Mediterranean to the North Sea, from the Atlantic to the banks of the Nile. Rome brutally enforces its rule, and its legions are the most efficient and aggressive…

read more…