Books

Here you’ll find all of our wonderful historical fiction and non-fiction books. Use the filters on the right to find the corner of history you’re looking for. Choose the period, genre or history tag that’s most relevant to display books in that category.

Explore H for History

Clear filter

Fiction

The Fortunes

Peter Ho Davies

Ah Ling: son of a prostitute and a white 'ghost', dispatched from Hong Kong as a boy to make his way alone in 1860s California. Anna Mae Wong: the first Chinese film star in Hollywood, forbidden to kiss a white man on screen. Vincen…

read more…

Non-fiction

Of Fortunes and War

Patrick Garrett

'The list of female war reporters is long and distinguished. But the great-grandmother of them all was Clare Hollingworth' Mail on Sunday 'Unputdownable' Alexander McCall Smith 'One of the most unforgettable journalists…

read more…

Fiction

Persephone

Julian Stockwin

Unputdownable naval action from the master of the sea story – Julian Stockwin returns with the next installment of action from Captain Sir Thomas Kydd. November 1807. Captain Sir Thomas Kydd must sail to Lisbon to aid the Portuguese Royal F…

read more…

Fiction

Inferno

Julian Stockwin

Unputdownable naval action from the master of the sea story – 'In Stockwin's hands the sea story will continue to entrance readers across the world' Guardian 1807. Captain Sir Thomas Kydd's famous sea action aboard Tyger has…

read more…

Fiction

Should You Ask Me

Marianne Kavanagh

'I've come about the bodies. I know who they are.' Just before D-Day in 1944, on the Isle of Purbeck in Dorset, an elderly woman walks into a police station. She has information, she says, about human remains recently discovered…

read more…

Fiction

Crimson and Bone

Marina Fiorato

'A rich jewel of a story, full of desire and danger' – Julie Cohen. A dark tale of love and obsession, perfect for fans of The Crimson Petal and the White. London, 1853. Annie Stride has nothing left to live for – she is a penniless…

read more…

Non-fiction

Mr Darley's Arabian

Christopher McGrath

Shortlisted for the William Hill Sports Book of the Year Award In 1704 a bankrupt English merchant sent home the colt he had bought from Bedouin tribesmen near the ruins of Palmyra. Thomas Darley hoped this horse might be the ticket to a ne…

read more…

Non-fiction

Jane Austen at Home

Lucy Worsley

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER 'This is my kind of history: carefully researched but so vivid that you are convinced Lucy Worsley was actually there at the party – or the parsonage.' Antonia Fraser 'A refreshingly unique perspectiv…

read more…

Fiction

The Irregular: A Different Class of Spy

H.B. Lyle

'A thrilling story of espionage, murder and the creation of the Secret Service' Charles Cumming, author of A Colder War 'A flavoursome smorgasbord that features not only Holmes but also Winston Churchill, this is irresistible st…

read more…

Non-fiction

50 Economics Classics

Tom Butler-Bowdon

'Something of a modern classic in its own right.' E&T magazine Economics drives the modern world and shapes our lives, but few of us feel we have time to engage with the breadth of ideas in the subject. 50 Economics Classics is the…

read more…