Books

Here you’ll find all of our wonderful historical fiction and non-fiction books. Use the filters on the right to find the corner of history you’re looking for. Choose the period, genre or history tag that’s most relevant to display books in that category.

Explore H for History

Clear filter

Fiction

The New World

Scott K. Andrews

The epic, thrilling conclusion to the most mind-bending, time-warping series since Doctor Who. Kaz, Dora and Jana – three people from three different time periods, brought together by forces they don't understand, given powers they can…

read more…

Fiction

Dandy Gilver and a Spot of Toil and Trouble

Catriona McPherson

A cosy Dandy Gilver mystery set in 1930s Scotland. For fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie. 'A delightfully uplifting mystery with a distinctly P.G. Wodehouse-ian feel. Navigating ancient castles, and family feuds…

read more…

Non-fiction

Deeds Not Words

Helen Pankhurst

'An incredible book . . . Informative, enlightening, and with the potential to change women's lives.' Sandi Toksvig 'A valuable guide and reference to anyone who wants to understand the Women's Movement in more depth. I…

read more…

Fiction

The Wicked Cometh

Laura Carlin

A Red Magazine February best read . . . Join Hester and Rebekah on a dangerous quest for truth through the darkest streets of 1831 London 'We have no need to protect ourselves from the bad sort because we ARE the bad sort . . .'…

read more…

Fiction

City of Masks

S D Sykes

A brilliantly dark and compelling novel set in Venice from 'the medieval CJ Sansom' (Jeffery Deaver) 1358. Oswald de Lacy, Lord Somershill, is in Venice, awaiting a pilgrim galley to the Holy Land. While the city is under siege from…

read more…

Fiction

There Was a Time

Frank White

On the day the Second World War broke out, Frank White was a 12-year-old schoolboy in Manchester. On the day it ended, he was serving on a Royal Navy warship in the Indian Ocean. In 20113, he started to write this novel. 'What I wanted…

read more…

Non-fiction

2020

Paul Cornish, Kingsley Donaldson

'A timely and cogent reminder that history never ends and is about to be made' – Tim Marshall, author of Prisoners of Geography With the world already struggling to contain conflicts on several continents, with security and defence…

read more…

Fiction

The Railwayman's Wife

Ashley Hay

'Exquisitely written and deeply felt … a true book of wonders' Geraldine Brooks 'A lovely, absorbing, and uplifting read.' M.L. Stedman 'overflows with gratitude for the hard, beautiful things of this world' Helen…

read more…

Fiction

The Chateau of Briis

Alison Weir

The Chateau of Briis: A Lesson in Love by historian Alison Weir is an e-short and companion piece to the Sunday Times bestseller Anne Boleyn: A King’s Obsession, the second novel in the spellbinding series about Henry VIII’s queens. ‘May I…

read more…

Non-fiction

Under the Knife

Arnold van de Laar

'This is history with a surgeon's touch: deft, incisive and sometimes excruciatingly bloody' The Sunday Times 'Utterly eccentric and riveting' Mail on Sunday 'Eye-opening and, frequently, eye-watering . . . a book th…

read more…