Books

Fiction

If historical fiction is your thing then you came to the right place. Here you’ll find the very best stories blending fact and fiction, everything from criminal investigations in Ancient Rome to the survival of love in the shadows of war, historical narratives that bring the past alive in a way nothing else can.

Explore H for History

Fiction

Retribution: The Centurions III

Anthony Riches

The author of the bestselling Empire series reaches the action-filled climax of his epic story of the uprising of the Batavi in AD 69. Victory is in sight for Kivilaz and his Batavi army. The Roman army clings desperately to its remaining f…

read more…

Fiction

Pandora's Boy

Lindsey Davis

Private investigator Flavia Albia is always drawn to an intriguing puzzle – even if it is put to her by her new husband's hostile ex-wife. On the Quirinal Hill, a young girl named Clodia has died, apparently poisoned with a love potion….

read more…

Fiction

A Kind of Freedom

Margaret Wilkerson Sexton

Evelyn is a Creole woman who comes of age in New Orleans at the height of World War II. Her family inhabits the upper echelon of Black society, and when she falls for no-account Renard, she is forced to choose between her life of privilege…

read more…

Fiction

Court of Wolves

Robyn Young

In this sweeping epic novel, which can be read as a completely standalone story or as the sequel to SONS OF THE BLOOD, the New World Rising series opens out into the pageant and power of renaissance Europe.

read more…

Fiction

The Zealot's Bones

D.M. Mark

Two men seeking the bones of a martyr stumble upon the crimes of a devil in the stunning historical crime novel by bestselling author David Mark. Hull, 1849: a city in the grip of a cholera outbreak that sees its poorest citizens cut down b…

read more…

Fiction

The Reluctant Contact

Stephen Burke

The Svalbard archipelago, 1977, Norwegian territory, yet closer to the north pole. Russian engineer Yuri arrives on the last boat to the Soviet mining outpost of Pyramiden, as the Arctic sun disappears for the winter. Yuri still plays by St…

read more…

Fiction

The Prince and the Whitechapel Murders

Saul David

'A rattling good yarn… A compelling, sexy hero who could give Cornwell's Sharpe a run for his money' The Times on ZULU HART London 1888: George 'Zulu' Hart is the mixed-race illegitimate son of a Dublin actress and (he…

read more…

Fiction

The Irregular: A Different Class of Spy

H.B. Lyle

As a boy, he spied for Sherlock Holmes. As a man, he must save the Empire. London 1909: The British Empire seems invulnerable. But Captain Vernon Kell, head of counter-intelligence at the War Office, knows better. In Russia, revolution; in…

read more…

Fiction

Crimson and Bone

Marina Fiorato

A dark, gripping story of love and obsession from bestselling author Marina Fiorato, perfect for fans of The Crimson Petal and the White. London, 1853. Annie Stride has nothing left to live for – she is a penniless prostitute, newly evicted…

read more…

Fiction

The Sealwoman's Gift

Sally Magnusson

'A remarkable feat of imagination… I enjoyed and admired it in equal measure' Sarah Perry, author of The Essex Serpent In 1627 Barbary pirates raided the coast of Iceland and abducted some 400 of its people, including 250 from a t…

read more…