Books

Fiction

If historical fiction is your thing then you came to the right place. Here you’ll find the very best stories blending fact and fiction, everything from criminal investigations in Ancient Rome to the survival of love in the shadows of war, historical narratives that bring the past alive in a way nothing else can.

Explore H for History

Fiction

The Irregular: A Different Class of Spy

H.B. Lyle

As a boy, he spied for Sherlock Holmes. As a man, he must save the Empire. London 1909: The British Empire seems invulnerable. But Captain Vernon Kell, head of counter-intelligence at the War Office, knows better. In Russia, revolution; in…

read more…

Fiction

Crimson and Bone

Marina Fiorato

A dark, gripping story of love and obsession from bestselling author Marina Fiorato, perfect for fans of The Crimson Petal and the White. London, 1853. Annie Stride has nothing left to live for – she is a penniless prostitute, newly evicted…

read more…

Fiction

The Wicked Cometh

Laura Carlin

A Stylist must-read for 2018 'We have no need to protect ourselves from the bad sort because we ARE the bad sort . . .' 'This newspaper has taken note that the past month has been remarkable for the prevalence of cases where men…

read more…

Fiction

City of Masks

S D Sykes

A brilliantly dark and compelling novel set in Venice from ‘the medieval CJ Sansom’ (Jeffery Deaver) 1358. Oswald de Lacy, Lord Somershill, is in Venice, awaiting a pilgrim galley to the Holy Land. While the city is under siege from the Hun…

read more…

Fiction

There Was a Time

Frank White

As Churchill and the nation face their finest hour in 1940, a Lincolnshire village wakes up to a glorious summer's morning. Following Dunkirk, the fate of the whole war will soon rest with the RAF and their desperate effort to win the B…

read more…

Fiction

The Railwayman's Wife

Ashley Hay

'Exquisitely written and deeply felt … a true book of wonders' Geraldine Brooks 'A lovely, absorbing, and uplifting read.' M.L. Stedman 'overflows with gratitude for the hard, beautiful things of this world' Helen…

read more…

Fiction

The Chateau of Briis

Alison Weir

The Chateau of Briis: A Lesson in Love by historian Alison Weir is an e-short and companion piece to the Sunday Times bestseller Anne Boleyn: A King’s Obsession, the second novel in the spellbinding series about Henry VIII’s queens. ‘May I…

read more…

Fiction

The Wages of Sin

Kaite Welsh

An irresistible mystery set in 1890s Edinburgh, Kaite Welsh’s THE WAGES OF SIN features a female medical student-turned-detective, and will thrill fans of Sarah Waters and Antonia Hodgson. Sarah Gilchrist has fled from London to Edinburgh i…

read more…

Fiction

SuperHubs

Sandra Navidi

ONE OF BLOOMBERG'S BEST BOOKS, 2016 FOREWORD BY NOURIEL ROUBINI SuperHubs is a rare, behind-the-scenes look at the global financial system and the powerful personal networks through which it is run, at the centre of which sit the Elites…

read more…

Fiction

Ruler of the Night

David Morrell

The sensational climax to David Morrell's acclaimed Victorian mystery trilogy. In 1855, the first murder on an English train causes a wave of fear and panic. There is no escape from a killer in a closed train carriage… and yet the kil…

read more…