Books

Non-Fiction

Here you’ll find all our finest non-fiction books. We’ve got everything from brilliant biographies to fully immersive studies that take you to the heart of lives lived centuries ago.

Explore H for History

Non-fiction

Crash Bang Wallop

Iain Martin

The one book you need to read if you want to understand the financial world. For fans of Michael Lewis's THE BIG SHORT and Andrew Ross Sorkin's TOO BIG TO FAIL, CRASH BANG WALLOP tells the gripping story of the most daring financial…

read more…

Non-fiction

Queen Bees

Siân Evans

'SO ENTERTAINING' The Times | 'A FASCINATING ACCOUNT' The Sunday Times 'GLORIOUSLY GOSSIPY' Red Magazine | 'IRRESISTIBLE AND WITTY' Woman & Home Queen Bees looks at the lives of six remarkable women who made…

read more…

Non-fiction

Citizen Clem

John Bew

'Easily the best single-volume, cradle-to-grave life of Clement Attlee yet written. Professor Bew updates but also betters all the other biographies with this intelligent, well-researched and highly readable book. Scholarly and percepti…

read more…

Non-fiction

1666

Rebecca Rideal

1666 was a watershed year for England. The outbreak of the Great Plague, the eruption of the second Dutch War and the Great Fire of London all struck the country in rapid succession and with devastating repercussions. Shedding light on thes…

read more…

Non-fiction

Magicians of the Gods

Graham Hancock

Graham Hancock's multi-million bestseller Fingerprints of the Gods remains an astonishing, deeply controversial, wide-ranging investigation of the mysteries of our past and the evidence for Earth's lost civilization. Twenty years on…

read more…

Non-fiction

The Story of Egypt

Joann Fletcher

The story of the world’s greatest civilisation spans more than 4000 years of history that has shaped the world. It is full of spectacular sites and epic stories, an evolving society rich in heroes and villains, inventors and intellectuals,…

read more…

Non-fiction

The Invisible Cross

Andrew Davidson

‘Padre McShane says the reason I was not given a Brigade was for being so outspoken at Loos. He said that if that were so, I wear the invisible cross of military glory.’ Colonel Graham Chaplin, commander of the Cameron Highlanders, wrote le…

read more…

Non-fiction

The Ministry of Ungentlemanly Warfare

Giles Milton

Six gentlemen, one goal – the destruction of Hitler's war machine In the spring of 1939, a top secret organisation was founded in London: its purpose was to plot the destruction of Hitler's war machine through spectacular acts of sa…

read more…

Non-fiction

Mr Darley's Arabian

Christopher McGrath

In 1704 a bankrupt English merchant sent home the colt he had bought from Bedouin tribesmen near the ruins of Palmyra. Thomas Darley hoped this horse might be the ticket to a new life back in Yorkshire. But he turned out to be far more than…

read more…

Non-fiction

Peg Plunkett

Julie Peakman

Of picking, washing and cleaning my pretty little toes, which he took great delight in, and in which pleasurable, innocent, and inoffensive pastime he as often spent hours; twas the greatest gratification to him on earth, nor did he (said s…

read more…