Early Modern

Books > Period: early-modern

The Early Modern period covers the Reformation and the Renaissance, the Tudors and the Stuarts and on to the French Revolution at the end of the eighteenth century.

Filter by: All / Fiction / Non-fiction

Fiction

Arthur: Prince of Roses

Alison Weir

Arthur: Prince of the Roses by bestselling historian Alison Weir is an e-short and companion piece to her stunning novel, Katherine of Aragon, the first in a spellbinding six-novel series about Henry VIII’s Queens. Fans of Philippa Gregory…

read more…

Fiction

The Last Confession of Thomas Hawkins

Antonia Hodgson

London, 1728. A young, well-dressed man is driven through streets of jeering onlookers to the gallows at Tyburn. They call him a murderer. But Tom Hawkins is innocent and somehow he has to prove it, before the rope squeezes the life out of…

read more…

Fiction

The Dead Woman of Deptford

Ann Granger

The sixth Inspector Ben Ross mystery On a cold November night in a Deptford yard, dock worker Harry Parker stumbles upon the body of a dead woman. Inspector Ben Ross is summoned from Scotland Yard to this insalubrious part of town, but no w…

read more…

Fiction

Sea of Poppies

Amitav Ghosh

At the heart of this epic saga, set just before the Opium Wars, is an old slaving-ship, the Ibis. Its destiny is a tumultuous voyage across the Indian Ocean, its crew a motley array of sailors and stowaways, coolies and convicts. In a time…

read more…

Non-fiction

Mr Darley's Arabian

Christopher McGrath

In 1704 a bankrupt English merchant sent home the colt he had bought from Bedouin tribesmen near the ruins of Palmyra. Thomas Darley hoped this horse might be the ticket to a new life back in Yorkshire. But he turned out to be far more than…

read more…

Fiction

The Revelations of Carey Ravine

Debra Daley

A beautiful historical mystery for fans of Sarah Waters, Amitav Ghosh's The Sea of Poppies, and Jamaica Inn. London in the 1770s is bursting with opportunity. It's a city fuelled by new ideas and new money, where everything is for s…

read more…

Non-fiction

Peg Plunkett

Julie Peakman

Of picking, washing and cleaning my pretty little toes, which he took great delight in, and in which pleasurable, innocent, and inoffensive pastime he as often spent hours; twas the greatest gratification to him on earth, nor did he (said s…

read more…

Fiction

Love & Friendship

Whit Stillman

*NOW A MAJOR FILM STARRING KATE BECKINSALE, CHLOE SEVIGNY AND STEPHEN FRY* With a pitch-perfect Austenian sensibility and wry social commentary, filmmaker and writer Whit Stillman cleverly re-imagines and completes one of our greatest write…

read more…

Non-fiction

Sicily

John Julius Norwich

'Sicily is the key to everything' Johann Wolfgang von Goethe The author of the classic book on Venice turns his sights to Sicily in this beautiful book full of maps and colour photographs. 'I discovered Sicily almost by mistake…

read more…

Non-fiction

The Private Lives of the Tudors

Tracy Borman

'Borman approaches her topic with huge enthusiasm and a keen eye for entertaining…this is a very human story of a remarkable family, full of vignettes that sit long in the mind.' Dan Jones, The Sunday Times 'Tracy Borman's…

read more…