Books > Tag:

Filter by: All / Fiction / Non-fiction

Fiction

The Prince and the Whitechapel Murders

Saul David

'A rattling good yarn… A compelling, sexy hero who could give Cornwell's Sharpe a run for his money' The Times on ZULU HART London 1888: George 'Zulu' Hart is the mixed-race illegitimate son of a Dublin actress and (he…

read more…

Non-fiction

The Women Who Shaped Politics

Sophy Ridge

Sophy Ridge, presenter for Sky News, has uncovered the extraordinary stories of the women who have shaped British politics. Never has the role of women in the political world ever been more on the news agenda, and Sophy has interviewed curr…

read more…

Fiction

Should You Ask Me

Marianne Kavanagh

'I've come about the bodies. I know who they are.' Just before D-Day in 1944, on the Isle of Purbeck in Dorset, an elderly woman walks into a police station. She has information, she says, about human remains recently discovered…

read more…

Fiction

Dandy Gilver and a Spot of Toil and Trouble

Catriona McPherson

A cosy Dandy Gilver mystery set in 1930s Scotland. For fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie. 'A delightfully uplifting mystery with a distinctly P.G. Wodehouse-ian feel. Navigating ancient castles, and family feuds…

read more…

Fiction

The Irregular: A Different Class of Spy

H.B. Lyle

As a boy, he spied for Sherlock Holmes. As a man, he must save the Empire. London 1909: The British Empire seems invulnerable. But Captain Vernon Kell, head of counter-intelligence at the War Office, knows better. In Russia, revolution; in…

read more…

Fiction

The Wicked Cometh

Laura Carlin

The Wicked Cometh will take readers on a heart-racing journey through backstreets swathed with fog to richly curtained, brightly lit country houses; from the libraries and colleges of gentlemen, to sawdust-strewn gin palaces where ne'er…

read more…

Fiction

Crimson and Bone

Marina Fiorato

A dark, gripping story of love and obsession from bestselling author Marina Fiorato, perfect for fans of The Crimson Petal and the White. London, 1853. Annie Stride has nothing left to live for – she is a penniless prostitute, newly evicted…

read more…

Fiction

The Sealwoman's Gift

Sally Magnusson

'A remarkable feat of imagination… I enjoyed and admired it in equal measure' Sarah Perry, author of The Essex Serpent In 1627 Barbary pirates raided the coast of Iceland and abducted some 400 of its people, including 250 from a t…

read more…

Fiction

The New World

Scott K. Andrews

Kaz, Dora and Jana – three people from three different time periods, brought together by forces they don't understand, given powers they can barely comprehend. Their powers have brought them together. And nothing – not war, not betrayal…

read more…

Non-fiction

The Making of a Secret Agent

Roderick Bailey

How do you set about training a secret agent? What kind of people were recruited and trained to kill and sabotage so they could be dropped into Nazi occupied territory in World War Two? And what happened to them after their active service w…

read more…