Books > Tag: european

Filter by: All / Fiction / Non-fiction

Fiction

Mister Memory

Marcus Sedgwick

In Paris in the year 1899, Marcel Després is arrested for the murder of his wife and transferred to the famous Salpêtrière asylum. And there the story might have stopped. But the doctor assigned to his care soon realises this is no ordinary…

read more…

Fiction

Cry, Mother Spain

Lydie Salvayre

Aged fifteen, as Franco's forces begin their murderous purges and cities across Spain rise up against the old order, Montse has never heard the word fascista before. In any case, the villagers say facha (the ch is a real Spanish ch, by…

read more…

Fiction

Moonstone: The Boy Who Never Was

Sjón

Winner of the Icelandic Literary Prize The year is 1918 and in Iceland the erupting volcano Katla can be seen colouring the sky night and day from the streets of Reykjavik. Yet life in the small capital carries on as usual, despite the natu…

read more…

Fiction

Hearts of Stone

Simon Scarrow

1938. A perfect summer on the Greek island of Lefkas for three young people untroubled by the simmering politics of Europe. Peter, visiting from Germany while his father leads an archaeological dig, has become close friends with locals Andr…

read more…

Non-fiction

Sicily

John Julius Norwich

'Sicily is the key to everything' Johann Wolfgang von Goethe The author of the classic book on Venice turns his sights to Sicily in this beautiful book full of maps and colour photographs. 'I discovered Sicily almost by mistake…

read more…

Fiction

Napoleon's Last Island

Thomas Keneally

On the island of St Helena in the south Atlantic ocean, Napoleon spends his last years in exile. It is a hotbed of gossip, and secret liaisons, where a blind eye is turned to relations between colonials and slaves. The disgraced emperor is…

read more…

Fiction

Conspiracy

Iain Gale

British Intelligence maverick James Keane goes undercover in Napoleon's Paris for his most daring espionage mission yet. It's 1812, and one man is on the top of the world. Napoleon Bonaparte has enjoyed victories all over Europe and…

read more…

Fiction

The Last Legionnaire

Paul Fraser Collard

Jack Lark has come a long way since his days as a gin palace pot boy. But can he surrender the thrill of freedom to return home? London, 1859. After years fighting for Queen and country, Jack walks back into his mother’s East End gin palace…

read more…

Fiction

The Words In My Hand

Guinevere Glasfurd

'EXCELLENT… AN ENTIRELY UNSENTIMENTAL LOVE STORY WITH A MEMORABLE AND ENGAGING HEROINE' – The Times (Book of the Month) 'A STRIKING DEBUT' The Sunday Times For fans of The Miniaturist and Girl With a Pearl Earring, The Wor…

read more…

Non-fiction

After Hitler

Michael Jones

On 30 April 1945, Adolf Hitler committed suicide. The following day, his propaganda minister Joseph Goebbels also killed himself and the crumbling Third Reich passed to Admiral Karl Dönitz. The Nazis' position seemed hopeless. Yet remar…

read more…