Books > Tag: european

Fiction

Mister Memory

Marcus Sedgwick

In Paris in the year 1899, Marcel Després is arrested for the murder of his wife and transferred to the famous Salpêtrière asylum. And there the story might have stopped. But the doctor assigned to his care soon realises this is no ordinary…

read more…

Cry, Mother Spain

Lydie Salvayre

Aged fifteen, as Franco's forces begin their murderous purges and cities across Spain rise up against the old order, Montse has never heard the word fascista before. In any case, the villagers say facha (the ch is a real Spanish ch, by…

read more…

Moonstone: The Boy Who Never Was

Sjón

Winner of the Icelandic Literary Prize The year is 1918 and in Iceland the erupting volcano Katla can be seen colouring the sky night and day from the streets of Reykjavik. Yet life in the small capital carries on as usual, despite the natu…

read more…

Hearts of Stone

Simon Scarrow

1938. A perfect summer on the Greek island of Lefkas for three young people untroubled by the simmering politics of Europe. Peter, visiting from Germany while his father leads an archaeological dig, has become close friends with locals Andr…

read more…

Napoleon's Last Island

Thomas Keneally

On the island of St Helena in the south Atlantic ocean, Napoleon spends his last years in exile. It is a hotbed of gossip, and secret liaisons, where a blind eye is turned to relations between colonials and slaves. The disgraced emperor is…

read more…

Conspiracy

Iain Gale

British Intelligence maverick James Keane goes undercover in Napoleon's Paris for his most daring espionage mission yet. It's 1812, and one man is on the top of the world. Napoleon Bonaparte has enjoyed victories all over Europe and…

read more…

The Last Legionnaire

Paul Fraser Collard

Jack Lark has come a long way since his days as a gin palace pot boy. But can he surrender the thrill of freedom to return home? London, 1859. After years fighting for Queen and country, Jack walks back into his mother’s East End gin palace…

read more…

The Words In My Hand

Guinevere Glasfurd

'EXCELLENT… AN ENTIRELY UNSENTIMENTAL LOVE STORY WITH A MEMORABLE AND ENGAGING HEROINE' – The Times (Book of the Month) 'A STRIKING DEBUT' The Sunday Times For fans of The Miniaturist and Girl With a Pearl Earring, The Wor…

read more…

The Moon and the Sun

Vonda N. McIntyre

In seventeenth-century France, Louis XIV rules with flamboyant ambition. From the Hall of Mirrors to the vermin-infested attics of the Chateau at Versailles, courtiers compete to please the king, sacrificing fortune,principles and sacred bo…

read more…

Gutenberg's Apprentice

Alix Christie

'A lovely piece of work; finely researched and beautifully, atmospherically written' Sarah Dunant A gripping historical novel that brings tumultuous medieval Europe to life. Not to be missed by readers of Hilary Mantel, Peter Ackroy…

read more…