Books > Tag: georgian

Filter by: All / Fiction / Non-fiction

Fiction

The Last Confession of Thomas Hawkins

Antonia Hodgson

London, 1728. A young, well-dressed man is driven through streets of jeering onlookers to the gallows at Tyburn. They call him a murderer. But Tom Hawkins is innocent and somehow he has to prove it, before the rope squeezes the life out of…

read more…

Fiction

The Revelations of Carey Ravine

Debra Daley

A beautiful historical mystery for fans of Sarah Waters, Amitav Ghosh's The Sea of Poppies, and Jamaica Inn. London in the 1770s is bursting with opportunity. It's a city fuelled by new ideas and new money, where everything is for s…

read more…

Non-fiction

Peg Plunkett

Julie Peakman

Of picking, washing and cleaning my pretty little toes, which he took great delight in, and in which pleasurable, innocent, and inoffensive pastime he as often spent hours; twas the greatest gratification to him on earth, nor did he (said s…

read more…

Fiction

Love & Friendship

Whit Stillman

*NOW A MAJOR FILM STARRING KATE BECKINSALE, CHLOE SEVIGNY AND STEPHEN FRY* With a pitch-perfect Austenian sensibility and wry social commentary, filmmaker and writer Whit Stillman cleverly re-imagines and completes one of our greatest write…

read more…

Fiction

Tyger

Julian Stockwin

Unputdownable naval action from the master of the sea story – 'In Stockwin's hands the sea story will continue to entrance readers across the world' Guardian Captain Sir Thomas Kydd's part in Britain's doomed occupation…

read more…

Fiction

Jane Steele

Lyndsay Faye

'Reader, I murdered him.' JANE STEELE is a brilliant Gothic retelling of JANE EYRE from Edgar-nominated Lyndsay Faye, for fans of LONGBOURN and PRIDE AND PREJUDICE AND ZOMBIES. 'I loved it' – Elly Griffiths. Like the heroine…

read more…

Fiction

The Butcher's Hook

Janet Ellis

***LONGLISTED FOR THE DESMOND ELLIOT PRIZE 2016*** 'A HIGH-FINISH PERFORMANCE' Observer 'DARK WEIRD AND GLORIOUSLY FEMINIST' Elle UK 'A SHARP EYE AND A SHARPER WIT – A MEMORABLE HEROINE' Guardian 'INIMITABLE, ING…

read more…

Fiction

Tyger

Julian Stockwin

Unputdownable naval action from the master of the sea story – 'In Stockwin's hands the sea story will continue to entrance readers across the world' Guardian The greatest naval trial in the Georgian period is underway at Portsmo…

read more…

Fiction

Mathew's Tale

Quintin Jardine

In this, his landmark fortieth novel, Quintin Jardine tells the remarkable story of a man's quest for justice – at any cost. 1818, Carluke, Lanarkshire. Mathew Fleming returns home to Scotland following heroic service at the Battle of W…

read more…

Fiction

Salem Street

Anna Jacobs

The first book in the heartwarming Gibson series by beloved saga author Anna Jacobs. In 1820 Salem Street is sparkling and new: eight small terraced houses built by a Lancashire mill owner for his best workers. Annie Gibson's family is…

read more…