Books > Tag: ww2

Filter by: All / Fiction / Non-fiction

Fiction

Everyone Brave is Forgiven

Chris Cleave

An extraordinary tale of love and honour in extreme circumstances, from the multi-award-winning author of THE OTHER HAND. When war is declared, Mary North leaves finishing school unfinished, goes straight to the War Office, and signs up. To…

read more…

Fiction

A Time for Renewal

Anna Jacobs

In the wake of World War Two, the whole country is desperate for houses, with very little money available to rebuild. In the town of Rivenshaw in Lancashire, Mayne Esher has no choice but to turn Esherwood, the war-damaged stately home whic…

read more…

Non-fiction

The Ministry of Ungentlemanly Warfare

Giles Milton

Six gentlemen, one goal – the destruction of Hitler's war machine In the spring of 1939, a top secret organisation was founded in London: its purpose was to plot the destruction of Hitler's war machine through spectacular acts of sa…

read more…

Non-fiction

The Nazi Hunters

Damien Lewis

The Nazi Hunters is the incredible, hitherto untold story of the most secret chapter in the SAS's history. Officially, the world's most elite special forces unit was dissolved at the end of the Second World War, and not reactivated…

read more…

Non-fiction

The Real X-Men

Robert Lyman

The thrilling and true story of the development and operational deployment of human torpedoes – 'Chariots' – and 'X-craft' midget submarines in British naval service during WWII, and of the extraordinary men who crewed these…

read more…

Non-fiction

Defending the Motherland

Lyuba Vinogradova

Plucked from every background, and led by an N.K.V.D. Major, the new recruits who boarded a train in Moscow on 16th October 1941 to go to war had much in common with millions of others across the world. What made the 586th Fighter Regiment,…

read more…

Non-fiction

No Better Friend

Robert Weintraub

An extraordinary tale of the remarkable bond between one man and his dog during the Second World War. The two friends huddled close together, each of them the other's saving grace in a world gone to hell . . . There was nothing terribly…

read more…

Fiction

At The Water's Edge

Sara Gruen

SHORTLISTED FOR THE ROMANTIC NOVELISTS' ASSOCIATION HISTORICAL ROMANTIC NOVEL AWARD A gripping and poignant love story set in a remote village in the Scottish Highlands at the end of the Second World War. 'the only fault I can find…

read more…

Non-fiction

Raoul Wallenberg

Ingrid Carlberg

An Honorary Citizen of the U.S.A., and designated as one of the Righteous among the Nations by Israel, Raoul Wallenberg’s heroism in Budapest at the height of the Holocaust saved countless lives, and ultimately cost him his own. A series of…

read more…

Fiction

The Madagaskar Plan

Guy Saville

A brilliant “what if” novel of the years after WW2 for fans of SS-GB and The Man in the High Castle. 1953. Britain and her Empire are diminished. Nazi Germany controls Europe and a vast African territory. There has been no Holocaust. Instea…

read more…