Books

Here you’ll find all of our wonderful historical fiction and non-fiction books. Use the filters on the right to find the corner of history you’re looking for. Choose the period, genre or history tag that’s most relevant to display books in that category.

Explore H for History

Clear filter

Fiction

City of Masks

S D Sykes

Book 3 in the gripping Oswald de Lacy series, which can be read as a standalone, from 'the medieval CJ Sansom' (Jeffery Deaver) 'It is Sykes' outstanding portrayal of the Venice of 1358 which makes such a fascinating setting…

read more…

Fiction

Dandy Gilver and a Spot of Toil and Trouble

Catriona McPherson

A cosy Dandy Gilver mystery set in 1930s Scotland. For fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie. 'A delightfully uplifting mystery with a distinctly P.G. Wodehouse-ian feel. Navigating ancient castles, and family feuds…

read more…

Non-fiction

2020

Paul Cornish, Kingsley Donaldson

'A well-researched and thought-provoking book' Telegraph '2020: World of War is an informed piece of strategic speculation and analysis. Its official distribution should start at Number 10 Downing Street, with the book being qui…

read more…

Fiction

There Was a Time

Frank White

From an author who lived through – and served in – the conflict, a brilliant novel set in an English village at a turning point of the Second World War. 'A wonderful read, packed with incident, colour and detail' Telegraph A Lincoln…

read more…

Non-fiction

A Nearly Infallible History of the Reformation

Nick Page

500 years ago, Martin Luther nailed his ideas to a church door – and the Reformation began. Or maybe it was a little more complicated than that. Nick Page brings his skills as an unlicensed historian to bear on this key period in European (…

read more…

Non-fiction

Jo Cox

Brendan Cox

'Jo Cox's selfless service to others made the world a better place' Barack Obama, 44th President of the United States THE NUMBER 1 SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER 'Jo's dedication to a fairer and kinder world beautifully told …..

read more…

Non-fiction

Crash Bang Wallop

Iain Martin

Published to mark the 30th anniversary of the financial revolution known as 'Big Bang', Crash Bang Wallop will tell the gripping story of how the changes introduced in the 1980s in the City of London transformed our world. Attitudes…

read more…

Fiction

The Fortunes

Peter Ho Davies

Ah Ling: son of a prostitute and a white 'ghost', dispatched from Hong Kong as a boy to make his way alone in 1860s California. Anna Mae Wong: the first Chinese film star in Hollywood, forbidden to kiss a white man on screen. Vincen…

read more…

Non-fiction

Of Fortunes and War

Patrick Garrett

'The list of female war reporters is long and distinguished. But the great-grandmother of them all was Clare Hollingworth' Mail on Sunday 'Unputdownable' Alexander McCall Smith 'One of the most unforgettable journalists…

read more…

Fiction

Persephone

Julian Stockwin

Unputdownable naval action from the master of the sea story – Julian Stockwin returns with the next installment of action from Captain Sir Thomas Kydd. November 1807. Captain Sir Thomas Kydd must sail to Lisbon to aid the Portuguese Royal F…

read more…