Books

Here you’ll find all of our wonderful historical fiction and non-fiction books. Use the filters on the right to find the corner of history you’re looking for. Choose the period, genre or history tag that’s most relevant to display books in that category.

Explore H for History

Clear filter

Fiction

Tyger

Julian Stockwin

Unputdownable naval action from the master of the sea story – 'In Stockwin's hands the sea story will continue to entrance readers across the world' Guardian The greatest naval trial in the Georgian period is underway at Portsmo…

read more…

Fiction

Return of the Plumed Serpent

Graham Hancock

Graham Hancock, an expert in ancient civilisations and author of the 9 million selling Fingerprints of the Gods, and expert too, on the use of hallucinogens to achieve higher states of consciousness, brings these two interests together in t…

read more…

Non-fiction

The Nazi Hunters

Damien Lewis

The Nazi Hunters is the incredible, hitherto untold story of the most secret chapter in the SAS’s history. Officially, the world’s most elite special forces unit was dissolved at the end of the Second World War, and not reactivated until th…

read more…

Fiction

The Fatal Flame

Lyndsay Faye

'Spectacular' Gillian Flynn. THE FATAL FLAME is the stunning third novel in Lyndsay Faye's Edgar Award-nominated series, for fans of Andrew Taylor and Antonia Hodgson's The Devil in the Marshalsea. A scarred barman turned co…

read more…

Fiction

Now is the Time

Melvyn Bragg

In this gripping novel, Melvyn Bragg brings an extraordinary episode in English history to fresh, urgent life. At the end of May 1381, the fourteen-year-old King of England had reason to be fearful: the plague had returned, the royal coffer…

read more…

Non-fiction

After Hitler

Michael Jones

On 30 April 1945, Adolf Hitler committed suicide. The following day, his propaganda minister Joseph Goebbels also killed himself and the crumbling Third Reich passed to Admiral Karl Dönitz. The Nazis' position seemed hopeless. Yet remar…

read more…

Non-fiction

The Celts

Alice Roberts

Alice Roberts goes in search of the Celts and their treasures in a narrative history to accompanying a new BBC series. We know a lot about the Roman Empire. The Romans left monuments to their glories and written histories charting the explo…

read more…

Fiction

The Night in Question

Laurie Graham

Dot Allbones was the youngest of her large Midlands family. With no beauty, and few prospects, she was lucky to discover a lucrative talent – she can make people laugh. Now the queen of London's music hall stage, Dot feels she's not…

read more…

Fiction

The Grand Duchess of Nowhere

Laurie Graham

There is one great love in everyone's life. For Ducky, Princess Victoria Melita, hers was a Romanov cousin, a member of the doomed Russian royal family. Her father is Prince Alfred, Duke of Edinburgh, Queen Victoria's second son. He…

read more…

Fiction

Ridge Hill

Anna Jacobs

Book threein the heartwarming Lancashire-based Gibson series by beloved saga author Anna Jacobs. It's 1848 and preparations are underway for Annie Gibson's wedding to Bilsden's wealthy millwoner, Frederick Hallam. But not everyo…

read more…