Books

Here you’ll find all of our wonderful historical fiction and non-fiction books. Use the filters on the right to find the corner of history you’re looking for. Choose the period, genre or history tag that’s most relevant to display books in that category.

Explore H for History

Clear filter

Fiction

The Leopards of Normandy: Devil

David Churchill

David Churchill writes with the immediacy of Conn Iggulden, the epic ambition of Bernard Cornwell and the plotting of CJ Sansom. The Leopards of Normandy trilogy tells the story of William the Conqueror in all its wild, intoxicating, unfail…

read more…

Fiction

The Butcher Bird

S D Sykes

A gripping medieval historical crime thriller, from 'the medieval CJ Sansom' (Jeffery Deaver) Oswald de Lacy is growing up fast in his new position as Lord of Somershill Manor. The Black Death changed many things, and just as it too…

read more…

Non-fiction

The Invention of Nature

Andrea Wulf

WINNER OF THE 2015 COSTA BIOGRAPHY AWARD WINNER OF THE ROYAL SOCIETY SCIENCE BOOK PRIZE 2016 WINNER OF THE 2017 DINGLE PRIZE 'Dazzling' Literary Review 'Brilliant' Sunday Express 'Extraordinary and gripping' New Scie…

read more…

Fiction

A Christmas Escape

Anne Perry

December, 1866. Charles Latterly, Hester Monk's brother, travels to Italy to spend Christmas on the volcanic island of Stromboli. In his secluded mountain hotel a curious group of people has gathered, and Charles senses a brittle strain…

read more…

Fiction

Deadly Election

Lindsey Davis

In the blazing July heat of imperial Rome, Flavia Albia inspects a decomposing corpse. It has been discovered in lots to be auctioned by her family business, so she's determined to identify the dead man and learn how he met his gruesome…

read more…

Fiction

Return of the Plumed Serpent

Graham Hancock

Graham Hancock, an expert in ancient civilisations and author of the 9 million selling Fingerprints of the Gods, and expert too, on the use of hallucinogens to achieve higher states of consciousness, brings these two interests together in t…

read more…

Non-fiction

The Nazi Hunters

Damien Lewis

The Nazi Hunters is the incredible, hitherto untold story of the most secret chapter in the SAS’s history. Officially, the world’s most elite special forces unit was dissolved at the end of the Second World War, and not reactivated until th…

read more…

Fiction

The Fatal Flame

Lyndsay Faye

'Spectacular' Gillian Flynn. THE FATAL FLAME is the stunning third novel in Lyndsay Faye's Edgar Award-nominated series, for fans of Andrew Taylor and Antonia Hodgson's The Devil in the Marshalsea. A scarred barman turned co…

read more…

Fiction

Now is the Time

Melvyn Bragg

In this gripping novel, Melvyn Bragg brings an extraordinary episode in English history to fresh, urgent life. At the end of May 1381, the fourteen-year-old King of England had reason to be fearful: the plague had returned, the royal coffer…

read more…

Non-fiction

After Hitler

Michael Jones

On 30 April 1945, Adolf Hitler committed suicide. The following day, his propaganda minister Joseph Goebbels also killed himself and the crumbling Third Reich passed to Admiral Karl Dönitz. The Nazis' position seemed hopeless. Yet remar…

read more…