Books

Here you’ll find all of our wonderful historical fiction and non-fiction books. Use the filters on the right to find the corner of history you’re looking for. Choose the period, genre or history tag that’s most relevant to display books in that category.

Explore H for History

Clear filter

Non-fiction

Great Military Disasters

Julian Spilsbury

Great Military Disasters tells the dramatic stories behind the world's most calamitous conflicts. From the French army's failure to understand the impact of new technology at Crécy to Hitler's blatant overconfidence at Stalingra…

read more…

Fiction

Thunder of the Gods: Empire VIII

Anthony Riches

The eighth book in the Empire sequence takes Centurion Marcus Aquila and his Tungrian legion on a dangerous mission to the heart of the Parthian empire. With Rome no longer safe Marcus and the Tungrians are ordered east, to the desolate bor…

read more…

Fiction

The Last Queen Of India

Michelle Moran

1857, India. At nineteen years old, Sita is the shining star of Queen Lakshmi of India's imperial guard, having pledged herself to a life of celibacy in the name of protecting the young ruler. When Sita agrees to train Lakshmi in the ar…

read more…

Non-fiction

Defending the Motherland

Lyuba Vinogradova

Plucked from every background, and led by an N.K.V.D. Major, the new recruits who boarded a train in Moscow on 16th October 1941 to go to war had much in common with millions of others across the world. What made the 586th Fighter Regiment,…

read more…

Fiction

Theft of Life

Imogen Robertson

London, 1785. When the body of a former West Indies planter is found outside St Paul's Cathedral, suspicion abounds. But talk is not only of the man's death. His past brings a tide of fear directly to Harriet Westerman's door wh…

read more…

Fiction

Inspector of the Dead

David Morrell

The year is 1855. The Crimean war is raging. The British government has fallen. The Empire itself hangs in the balance. Into this crisis comes Thomas De Quincey, one of the most notorious personalities of Victorian England. Along with his i…

read more…

Fiction

Brothers in Blood (Eagles of the Empire 13)

Simon Scarrow

BROTHERS IN BLOOD is the gripping thirteenth novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling Eagles of the Empire series. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell. The Roman Empire's conquest of Britannia is under threat from within. A messenger o…

read more…

Non-fiction

Gin Glorious Gin

Olivia Williams

Gin Glorious Gin is a vibrant cultural history of London seen through the prism of its most iconic drink. Leading the reader through the underbelly of the Georgian city via the Gin Craze, detouring through the Empire (with a G&T in hand…

read more…

Fiction

The Vanishing Witch

Karen Maitland

The Vanishing Witch by Karen Maitland, author of the hugely popular Company of Liars will thrill fans of CJ Sansom and Kate Mosse with its chilling recreation of the Peasants' Revolt. It offers an intelligent, beautifully researched gli…

read more…

Non-fiction

The Spy Who Changed The World

Mike Rossiter

The world first heard of Klaus Fuchs, the head of theoretical physics at the British Research Establishment at Harwell in February 1950 when he appeared at the Old Bailey, accused of passing secrets to the Soviet Union. For over sixty years…

read more…