Books

Here you’ll find all of our wonderful historical fiction and non-fiction books. Use the filters on the right to find the corner of history you’re looking for. Choose the period, genre or history tag that’s most relevant to display books in that category.

Explore H for History

Clear filter

Fiction

Thunder of the Gods: Empire VIII

Anthony Riches

The eighth book in the Empire sequence takes Centurion Marcus Aquila and his Tungrian legion on a dangerous mission to the heart of the Parthian empire. With Rome no longer safe Marcus and the Tungrians are ordered east, to the desolate bor…

read more…

Fiction

The Last Queen Of India

Michelle Moran

1857, India. At nineteen years old, Sita is the shining star of Queen Lakshmi of India's imperial guard, having pledged herself to a life of celibacy in the name of protecting the young ruler. When Sita agrees to train Lakshmi in the ar…

read more…

Non-fiction

Defending the Motherland

Lyuba Vinogradova

Plucked from every background, and led by an N.K.V.D. Major, the new recruits who boarded a train in Moscow on 16th October 1941 to go to war had much in common with millions of others across the world. What made the 586th Fighter Regiment,…

read more…

Fiction

Theft of Life

Imogen Robertson

London, 1785. When the body of a former West Indies planter is found outside St Paul's Cathedral, suspicion abounds. But talk is not only of the man's death. His past brings a tide of fear directly to Harriet Westerman's door wh…

read more…

Fiction

Inspector of the Dead

David Morrell

The year is 1855. The Crimean war is raging. The British government has fallen. The Empire itself hangs in the balance. Into this crisis comes Thomas De Quincey, one of the most notorious personalities of Victorian England. Along with his i…

read more…

Fiction

Brothers in Blood (Eagles of the Empire 13)

Simon Scarrow

BROTHERS IN BLOOD is the gripping thirteenth novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling Eagles of the Empire series. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell. The Roman Empire's conquest of Britannia is under threat from within. A messenger o…

read more…

Non-fiction

Gin Glorious Gin

Olivia Williams

Gin Glorious Gin is a vibrant cultural history of London seen through the prism of its most iconic drink. Leading the reader through the underbelly of the Georgian city via the Gin Craze, detouring through the Empire (with a G&T in hand…

read more…

Fiction

The Raven's Head

Karen Maitland

The Raven's Head by Karen Maitland, author of the bestselling and much-loved Company of Liars, will delight fans of Kate Mosse or Deborah Harkness seeking a new, dark fix. 'A compelling blend of historical grit and supernatural twis…

read more…

Fiction

Ortolans

Claire Lorrimer

Ortolans, a magnificent stately home that holds a mysterious grip on all those who live in it, hides a secret that has lain undiscovered for four hundred years. Three passionate, remarkable women play a vital part in the long, violent histo…

read more…

Fiction

A Man Lies Dreaming

Lavie Tidhar

The Man in the High Castle for the 21st century, A MAN LIES DREAMING is the award-winning novel by Lavie Tidhar, the next Philip K. Dick. Deep in the heart of history's most infamous concentration camp, a man lies dreaming. His name is…

read more…