Books

Here you’ll find all of our wonderful historical fiction and non-fiction books. Use the filters on the right to find the corner of history you’re looking for. Choose the period, genre or history tag that’s most relevant to display books in that category.

Explore H for History

Clear filter

Non-fiction

The People

Selina Todd

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER 'There was nothing extraordinary about my childhood or background. And yet I looked in vain for any aspect of my family's story when I went to university to read history, and continued to search fruitless…

read more…

Non-fiction

Under the Bearskin

Mark Evans, Andrew Sharples

'A fast-paced, thrilling account of British heroism, brave men surrounded and fighting against overwhelming odds. This is the real, sometimes shocking, and deeply personal story of modern warfare and PTSD.' Andy McNab Trapped in an…

read more…

Fiction

Girl Runner

Carrie Snyder

'original and moving… with the quirky charm of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry' Daily Mail 'a joy to read' Independent on Sunday Girl Runner, Carrie Snyder's debut novel, is the story of Aganetha Smart, a former…

read more…

Fiction

The Devil's Assassin

Paul Fraser Collard

The bold hero of THE SCARLET THIEF and THE MAHARAJAH'S GENERAL returns in an exhilarating and dangerous new adventure. Bombay, 1857. Jack Lark is living precariously as an officer when his heroic but fraudulent past is discovered by the…

read more…

Non-fiction

The Lost Imperialist

Andrew Gailey

Winner of the Elizabeth Longford Prize for Historical Biography 2016 Frederick Hamiton-Temple-Blackwood, 1st Marquess of Dufferin and Ava, enjoyed a glittering career which few could equal. As Viceroy of India and Governor-General of Canada…

read more…

Fiction

The Good Italian

Stephen Burke

Enzo Secchi, harbourmaster for Massawa, Eritrea's main port, is a loyal Italian colonial servant. He takes pride in running the docks, enjoys the occasional drink with his gregarious friend Salvatore, colonel of the local Italian garris…

read more…

Fiction

Dandy Gilver and The Reek of Red Herrings

Catriona McPherson

A cosy Dandy Gilver mystery set in 1930s Scotland. For fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie. On the rain-drenched, wave-lashed, wind-battered Banffshire coast, tiny fishing villages perch on ledges which would make a s…

read more…

Non-fiction

Thomas Cromwell

Tracy Borman

'This deeply researched and grippingly written biography brings Cromwell to life and exposes the Henrician court in all its brutal, glittering splendour.' Kate Williams, Independent Thomas Cromwell's life has made gripping readi…

read more…

Non-fiction

After Hitler

Michael Jones

On 30 April 1945, Adolf Hitler committed suicide. The following day, his propaganda minister Joseph Goebbels also killed himself and the crumbling Third Reich passed to Admiral Karl Dönitz. The Nazis' position seemed hopeless. Yet, rema…

read more…

Fiction

The Storm Lord: Twilight of the Celts Book II

M. K. Hume

The legend of King Arthur lives on… Crippled with hunger and weary to the point of collapse, Gareth Minor enters the fortress of Arden to deliver the dire news that Lord Arthur, the Last Dragon, has been captured by barbarians and taken t…

read more…