Books

Here you’ll find all of our wonderful historical fiction and non-fiction books. Use the filters on the right to find the corner of history you’re looking for. Choose the period, genre or history tag that’s most relevant to display books in that category.

Explore H for History

Clear filter

Fiction

The Prince and the Whitechapel Murders

Saul David

'A rattling good yarn… A compelling, sexy hero who could give Cornwell's Sharpe a run for his money' The Times on ZULU HART London 1888: George 'Zulu' Hart is the mixed-race illegitimate son of a Dublin actress and (he…

read more…

Fiction

The Irregular: A Different Class of Spy

H.B. Lyle

'Irresistible' Guardian 'Impressive' Daily Mail 'Captivating' Mick Herron Nominated for the 2018 Best First Novel, Barry Award London 1909 Captain Kell of the War Office knows the Empire is under threat – from Russia…

read more…

Fiction

The New World

Scott K. Andrews

The epic, thrilling conclusion to the most mind-bending, time-warping series since Doctor Who. Kaz, Dora and Jana – three people from three different time periods, brought together by forces they don't understand, given powers they can…

read more…

Fiction

Dandy Gilver and a Spot of Toil and Trouble

Catriona McPherson

A cosy Dandy Gilver mystery set in 1930s Scotland. For fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie. 'A delightfully uplifting mystery with a distinctly P.G. Wodehouse-ian feel. Navigating ancient castles, and family feuds…

read more…

Non-fiction

The Making of a Secret Agent

Roderick Bailey

How do you set about training a secret agent? What kind of people were recruited and trained to kill and sabotage so they could be dropped into Nazi occupied territory in World War Two? And what happened to them after their active service w…

read more…

Fiction

Crimson and Bone

Marina Fiorato

'A rich jewel of a story, full of desire and danger' – Julie Cohen. A dark tale of love and obsession, perfect for fans of The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock and The Wicked Cometh. London, 1853. Annie Stride has nothing left to live for -…

read more…

Fiction

The Sealwoman's Gift

Sally Magnusson

'A remarkable feat of imagination… I enjoyed and admired it in equal measure' Sarah Perry, author of The Essex Serpent 'A lyrical tale' Stylist 'Engrossing' Psychologies 'Compelling stuff' Good Housekeeping…

read more…

Non-fiction

Deeds Not Words

Helen Pankhurst

'An incredible book . . . Informative, enlightening, and with the potential to change women's lives.' Sandi Toksvig 'A valuable guide and reference to anyone who wants to understand the Women's Movement in more depth. I…

read more…

Fiction

The Wicked Cometh

Laura Carlin

A Red Magazine February best read . . . Join Hester and Rebekah on a dangerous quest for truth through the darkest streets of 1831 London 'We have no need to protect ourselves from the bad sort because we ARE the bad sort . . .'…

read more…

Fiction

City of Masks

S D Sykes

A brilliantly dark and compelling novel set in Venice from 'the medieval CJ Sansom' (Jeffery Deaver) 1358. Oswald de Lacy, Lord Somershill, is in Venice, awaiting a pilgrim galley to the Holy Land. While the city is under siege from…

read more…