Books

Here you’ll find all of our wonderful historical fiction and non-fiction books. Use the filters on the right to find the corner of history you’re looking for. Choose the period, genre or history tag that’s most relevant to display books in that category.

Explore H for History

Clear filter

Fiction

The Lost Daughter

David Ashton

For fans of Elementary, Ripper Street and Sherlock Holmes – meet Jean Brash, a feisty, self-made woman turned sleuth in murky Victorian Edinburgh where crime and high society meet. Jean Brash is beautiful, intelligent and in her prime. Owne…

read more…

Non-fiction

Citizen Clem: A Biography of Attlee

John Bew

The Orwell Prize-winning biography of Clement Attlee, a landmark contribution to the political dialogue by the ‘outstanding historian of his generation’ **WINNER OF THE ORWELL PRIZE FOR POLITICAL WRITING** **WINNER OF THE ELIZABETH LONGFORD…

read more…

Fiction

He Kills Coppers

Jake Arnott

Jake Arnott's 'mesmerizing, brilliant' (New York Times Book Review) second novel, a literary thriller that delves into corruption on both sides of the law and at the heart of the state. During the long hot summer of 1966, a sens…

read more…

Fiction

The Fatal Tree

Jake Arnott

Newgate Gaol, 1726. An anonymous writer sets down the words of Edgworth Bess as she confides the adventures and misfortunes that led her all too soon to the judgement of London: Cruelly deceived, Bess is cast out onto the streets of the wic…

read more…

Fiction

The Wild Air

Rebecca Mascull

In Edwardian England, aeroplanes are a new, magical invention, while female pilots are rare indeed. When shy Della Dobbs meets her mother's aunt, her life changes forever. Great Auntie Betty has come home from Kitty Hawk, North Carolina…

read more…

Fiction

The Reluctant Contact

Stephen Burke

The Svalbard archipelago, 1977, Norwegian territory, yet closer to the north pole. Russian engineer Yuri arrives on the last boat to the Soviet mining outpost of Pyramiden, as the Arctic sun disappears for the winter. Yuri still plays by St…

read more…

Fiction

Sons of the Blood

Robyn Young

'Robyn Young realistically evokes the brutal world of the late fifteenth century, and interweaves a gripping tale with a highly original take on Richard III and the Princes in the Tower. Provocative and grounded upon impressive research…

read more…

Fiction

The Book of Luce

L R Fredericks

'Truly a slice of magic and a work of imaginative genius.' Starburst A mind-bending mystery spanning continents and centuries for all fans of Neal Stephenson and David Mitchell. 'A witty and weird tale with shades of both Philip…

read more…

Fiction

The New World

Scott K. Andrews

Kaz, Dora and Jana – three people from three different time periods, brought together by forces they don't understand, given powers they can barely comprehend. Their powers have brought them together. And nothing – not war, not betrayal…

read more…

Non-fiction

Four Princes

John Julius Norwich

'Never before had the world seen four such giants co-existing. Sometimes friends, more often enemies, always rivals, these four men together held Europe in the hollow of their hands.' Four great princes – Henry VIII of England, Fran…

read more…