Books

Fiction

If historical fiction is your thing then you came to the right place. Here you’ll find the very best stories blending fact and fiction, everything from criminal investigations in Ancient Rome to the survival of love in the shadows of war, historical narratives that bring the past alive in a way nothing else can.

Explore H for History

Fiction

The Wages of Sin

Kaite Welsh

An irresistible mystery set in 1890s Edinburgh, Kaite Welsh’s THE WAGES OF SIN features a female medical student-turned-detective, and will thrill fans of Sarah Waters and Antonia Hodgson. Sarah Gilchrist has fled from London to Edinburgh i…

read more…

Fiction

SuperHubs

Sandra Navidi

A BLOOMBERG BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR FOREWORD BY NOURIEL ROUBINI SuperHubs is a rare, behind-the-scenes look at the global financial system and the powerful personal networks through which it is run, at the centre of which sit the Elites – the…

read more…

Fiction

Ruler of the Night

David Morrell

The sensational climax to David Morrell's acclaimed Victorian mystery trilogy. In 1855, the first murder on an English train causes a wave of fear and panic. There is no escape from a killer in a closed train carriage… and yet the kil…

read more…

Fiction

Rules of Civility

Amor Towles

'Fabulous' Observer 'Achingly stylish' Guardian 'Irresistible' Daily Telegraph 'Gripping' The Sunday Times In a jazz bar on the last night of 1937, watching a quartet because she couldn't afford to see th…

read more…

Fiction

The Baltic Prize

Julian Stockwin

1808. Parted from his new bride, Captain Sir Thomas Kydd is called away to join the Northern Expedition to Sweden, now Britain's only ally in the Baltic. Following the sudden declaration of war by Russia and with the consequent threat o…

read more…

Fiction

The Tower is Full of Ghosts Today

Alison Weir

The Tower is Full of Ghosts Today by historian Alison Weir is an e-short and companion piece to the Sunday Times bestseller Anne Boleyn: A King’s Obsession, the second novel in the spellbinding series about Henry VIII’s queens. Jo, historia…

read more…

Fiction

The Hamilton Affair

Elizabeth Cobbs

Love Hamilton: An American Musical? You'll adore The Hamilton Affair. THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER War will bring them together. Peace will tear them apart. History will make them immortal . . . Born a bastard and raised an orphan in t…

read more…

Fiction

Persephone

Julian Stockwin

'PERSEPHONE is another shining milepost for Captain Thomas Kydd and his creator, Julian Stockwin' Quarterdeck ******* November 1807. Captain Sir Thomas Kydd must sail to Lisbon to aid the Portuguese Royal Family's evacuation in…

read more…

Fiction

The Third Nero

Lindsey Davis

'Davis's prose is a lively joy, and Flavia's Rome is sinister and gloriously real' The Times on Saturday Flavia Albia's day-old marriage is in trouble – her new husband may be permanently disabled and they have no funds….

read more…

Fiction

Beyond the Wild River

Sarah Maine

From the author of The House Between Tides, comes an atmospheric and stunningly evocative historical novel. Perfect for fans of Sarah Perry's The Essex Serpent. 'Maine writes beautifully' THE TIMES Scotland,1893. Nineteen-year-o…

read more…