Books > Genre: historical-crime

Crime, and those who try to prevent it, is something written throughout the fabric of human civilisation. Here you’ll find thrilling fiction that spans all the ages of humankind.

Filter by: All / Fiction / Non-fiction

Fiction

Treachery at Lancaster Gate

Anne Perry

Thomas Pitt arrives at a devastating bombing in Lancaster Gate to find two policemen dead and three more gravely wounded. London's anarchists are blamed, but as Pitt and Inspector Tellman investigate they find it looks increasingly like…

read more…

Fiction

Revenge in a Cold River

Anne Perry

The queen of the Victorian mystery, New York Times bestseller Anne Perry returns with the 22nd novel in the William Monk series REVENGE IN A COLD RIVER. An adversary Monk cannot remember threatens everything he holds dear – will he survive…

read more…

Fiction

The Graveyard of the Hesperides

Lindsey Davis

Life is sweet for Flavia Albia and her soon-to-be husband Faustus. But his new job as a building contractor runs into a problem: At the Garden of the Hesperides a barmaid went missing years before; now the workmen start unearthing her bones…

read more…

Fiction

The 14th Colony

Steve Berry

'Berry makes history exciting, and he has written another winner.' Daily Mail The explosive new Cotton Malone thriller by the international bestseller Steve Berry. People say the Cold War is coming back. For some, it never went away…

read more…

Fiction

Dandy Gilver and the Unpleasantness in the Ballroom

Catriona McPherson

A cosy Dandy Gilver mystery set in 1930s Scotland. For fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie. Glasgow,1932, is a city in the grip of dance-fever. Public ballrooms and backstreet dancehalls are thronged every night and c…

read more…

Fiction

The Butcher's Hook

Janet Ellis

***LONGLISTED FOR THE DESMOND ELLIOT PRIZE 2016*** 'A HIGH-FINISH PERFORMANCE' Observer 'DARK WEIRD AND GLORIOUSLY FEMINIST' Elle UK 'A SHARP EYE AND A SHARPER WIT – A MEMORABLE HEROINE' Guardian 'INIMITABLE, ING…

read more…

Fiction

Smoke and Mirrors

Elly Griffiths

Brighton, winter 1951. Pantomime season is in full swing on the pier with Max Mephisto starring in Aladdin, but Max's headlines have been stolen by the disappearance ­­of two local children. When they are found dead in the snow, surroun…

read more…

Fiction

A Christmas Escape

Anne Perry

December, 1866. Charles Latterly, Hester Monk's brother, travels to Italy to spend Christmas on the volcanic island of Stromboli. In his secluded mountain hotel a curious group of people has gathered, and Charles senses a brittle strain…

read more…

Fiction

Holy Spy

Rory Clements

Rory Clements, winner of the Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award, 'does for Elizabeth's reign what CJ Sansom does for Henry VIII's' Sunday Times In London's smoky taverns, a conspiracy is brewing: a group of wealthy yo…

read more…

Fiction

Corridors of the Night

Anne Perry

One night, in a corridor of the Royal Naval Hospital, Greenwich, nurse Hester Monk is approached by a terrified girl. She's from a hidden ward of children, all subject to frequent blood-letting, and her brother is dying. While William M…

read more…