Books > Genre: historical-fiction

Fiction

The Wicked Cometh

Laura Carlin

‘We have no need to protect ourselves from the bad sort because WE are the bad sort . . .’ SHORTLISTED FOR THE BOOKS ARE MY BAG BREAKTHROUGH AUTHOR AWARD ‘Beguiling’ Stylist ********* The year is 1831. Down murky alleyways, acts of unspeaka…

read more…

Songwoman

Ilka Tampke

A stunning historical novel and the sequel to the critically acclaimed Skin, perfect for fans of Outlander and Game of Thrones. One woman’s quest to defend her culture. Haunted by the Roman attack that destroyed her home, Ailia flees to the…

read more…

The Chateau of Briis

Alison Weir

The Chateau of Briis: A Lesson in Love by historian Alison Weir is an e-short and companion piece to the Sunday Times bestseller Anne Boleyn: A King’s Obsession, the second novel in the spellbinding series about Henry VIII’s queens. ‘May I…

read more…

The Tower is Full of Ghosts Today

Alison Weir

The Tower is Full of Ghosts Today by historian Alison Weir is an e-short and companion piece to the Sunday Times bestseller Anne Boleyn: A King’s Obsession, the second novel in the spellbinding series about Henry VIII’s queens. Jo, historia…

read more…

Everyone Brave is Forgiven

Chris Cleave

An extraordinary tale of love and honour in extreme circumstances, from the multi-award-winning author of THE OTHER HAND. When war is declared, Mary North leaves finishing school unfinished, goes straight to the War Office, and signs up. To…

read more…

Arthur: Prince of Roses

Alison Weir

Arthur: Prince of the Roses by bestselling historian Alison Weir is an e-short and companion piece to her stunning novel, Katherine of Aragon, the first in a spellbinding six-novel series about Henry VIII’s Queens. Fans of Philippa Gregory…

read more…

Wicked Children: Murderous Tales from History

Karen Maitland

Wicked Children: Murderous Tales from History, by Karen Maitland, author of the much-loved Company of Liars, makes for compulsive reading that will captivate true crime readers and fans of C.J. Sansom and Kate Mosse. ‘Imaginative, hideous,…

read more…

Mata Hari

Michelle Moran

From the international bestselling author of Nefertiti comes a captivating novel about the infamous Mata Hari, exotic dancer, adored courtesan, and, possibly, infamous spy. Paris, 1917. The notorious dancer Mata Hari sits in a cold cell awa…

read more…

Sons of the Blood

Robyn Young

In the dying days of the Wars of the Roses a secret war is born. The battle for a crown is about to become a fight for the world. Bastard son, mercenary soldier, protector of the rightful king, seeker of a secret more treacherous than any i…

read more…

A Time for Renewal

Anna Jacobs

In the wake of World War Two, the whole country is desperate for houses, with very little money available to rebuild. In the town of Rivenshaw in Lancashire, Mayne Esher has no choice but to turn Esherwood, the war-damaged stately home whic…

read more…