Early Modern

Books > Period: early-modern

The Early Modern period covers the Reformation and the Renaissance, the Tudors and the Stuarts and on to the French Revolution at the end of the eighteenth century.

Filter by: All / Fiction / Non-fiction

Fiction

Love & Friendship

Whit Stillman

*NOW A MAJOR FILM STARRING KATE BECKINSALE, CHLOE SEVIGNY AND STEPHEN FRY* With a pitch-perfect Austenian sensibility and wry social commentary, filmmaker and writer Whit Stillman cleverly re-imagines and completes one of our greatest write…

read more…

Fiction

Six Tudor Queens: Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen

Alison Weir

*A Sunday Times Top Ten Bestseller* Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen by bestselling historian Alison Weir, author of The Lost Tudor Princess, is the first in a spellbinding six novel series about Henry VIII’s Queens. Alison takes you on…

read more…

Non-fiction

Katherine Howard

Josephine Wilkinson

'An impressive revisionist biography' The Times Looming out of the encroaching darkness of the February evening was London Bridge, still ornamented with the severed heads of Thomas Culpeper and Francis Dereham; the terrible price th…

read more…

Fiction

Marston Moor

Michael Arnold

The Sixth in The Civil War Chronicles featuring Major Stryker – 'the Sharpe of the Civil War' FIVE ARMIES FORTY-SIX THOUSAND MEN ONE CROWN THE BIGGEST BATTLE OF THE AGE 2 July 1644. Five armies converge outside York. It will be a ba…

read more…

Non-fiction

The Invention of Nature

Andrea Wulf

WINNER OF THE 2015 COSTA BIOGRAPHY AWARD WINNER OF THE ROYAL SOCIETY SCIENCE BOOK PRIZE 2016 'A thrilling adventure story' Bill Bryson 'Dazzling' Literary Review 'Brilliant' Sunday Express 'Extraordinary and grip…

read more…

Fiction

The Butcher's Hook

Janet Ellis

***LONGLISTED FOR THE DESMOND ELLIOT PRIZE 2016*** 'A HIGH-FINISH PERFORMANCE' Observer 'DARK WEIRD AND GLORIOUSLY FEMINIST' Elle UK 'A SHARP EYE AND A SHARPER WIT – A MEMORABLE HEROINE' Guardian 'INIMITABLE, ING…

read more…

Non-fiction

Cake: A Slice of History

Alysa Levene

My sister had three wedding cakes. Rather than spend a lot of money on a traditional cake she asked our grandmother, our mother, and our step-mother to make their signature bakes. My grandmother made the rich fruit cake she always baked at…

read more…

Fiction

The Silvered Heart

Katherine Clements

1648: Civil war is devastating England. The privileged world of Katherine Ferrers is crumbling under Cromwell’s army and, as an orphaned heiress, she has no choice but to marry for the sake of family. But as her marriage turns into a prison…

read more…

Fiction

Kit

Marina Fiorato

First published in hardback as Kit. An unforgettable historical romance based on an astonishing true story from international bestseller Marina Fiorato – perfect for fans of Poldark and The Scandalous Lady W. Dublin 1702. Irish beauty Kit K…

read more…

Fiction

Song of the Sea Maid

Rebecca Mascull

In the 18th century, Dawnay Price is an anomaly. An educated foundling, a woman of science in a time when such things are unheard-of, she overcomes her origins to become a natural philosopher. Against the conventions of the day, and to the…

read more…