Early Modern

Books > Period: early-modern

The Early Modern period covers the Reformation and the Renaissance, the Tudors and the Stuarts and on to the French Revolution at the end of the eighteenth century.

Filter by: All / Fiction / Non-fiction

Fiction

The Protector

S.J. Deas

Autumn,1646. The First Civil War is over, but the killing is not yet done. William Falkland, former favourite of King Charles turned reluctant investigator for Cromwell, seeks his missing family. As his hopes are once again dashed, a figure…

read more…

Fiction

The Words In My Hand

Guinevere Glasfurd

'EXCELLENT… AN ENTIRELY UNSENTIMENTAL LOVE STORY WITH A MEMORABLE AND ENGAGING HEROINE' – The Times (Book of the Month) 'A STRIKING DEBUT' The Sunday Times For fans of The Miniaturist and Girl With a Pearl Earring, The Wor…

read more…

Non-fiction

Coined

Kabir Sehgal

Money isn't just coins, bank notes or clamshells; it is more than a store of value or unit of payment. It's an idea, a transformative player in how we view, cope, and harmonise with the world. Money isn't just what makes the wor…

read more…

Fiction

Empire of the Moghul: Traitors in the Shadows

Alex Rutherford

TRAITORS IN THE SHADOWS is the sixth gripping novel in the action-packed Empire of the Moghul series by Alex Rutherford, perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow and Robyn Young. 'Totally absorbing… Authentic characters and sweeping action…

read more…

Fiction

Holy Spy

Rory Clements

Rory Clements, winner of the Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award, 'does for Elizabeth's reign what CJ Sansom does for Henry VIII's' Sunday Times In London's smoky taverns, a conspiracy is brewing: a group of wealthy yo…

read more…

Fiction

The Tudor Vendetta

Christopher Gortner

November, 1558: Elizabeth I has ascended the throne but the first days of her reign are already fraught with turmoil, the kingdom weakened by past strife and her ability to rule uncertain. When Brendan Prescott, her intimate spy, returns to…

read more…

Fiction

The Moon and the Sun

Vonda N. McIntyre

In seventeenth-century France, Louis XIV rules with flamboyant ambition. From the Hall of Mirrors to the vermin-infested attics of the Chateau at Versailles, courtiers compete to please the king, sacrificing fortune,principles and sacred bo…

read more…

Fiction

The Fields of Death (Wellington and Napoleon 4)

Simon Scarrow

THE FIELDS OF DEATH is the epic final novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling Wellington and Napoleon Quartet. Essential reading for fans of Bernard Cornwell. 1809. Viscount Wellington and Emperor Napoleon Bonaparte have made their mark as…

read more…

Fiction

The Generals (Wellington and Napoleon 2)

Simon Scarrow

THE GENERALS is the compelling second novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling Wellington and Napoleon quartet. A must read for fans of Bernard Cornwell. In the turbulent aftermath of the French Revolution Napoleon Bonaparte stands accused…

read more…

Non-fiction

Peg Plunkett

Julie Peakman

'Of picking, washing and cleaning my pretty little toes, which he took great delight in, and in which pleasurable, innocent, and inoffensive pastime he as often spent hours; 'twas the greatest gratification to him on earth, nor did…

read more…