Books > Tag:

Filter by: All / Fiction / Non-fiction

Fiction

A Capitol Death

Lindsey Davis

A tragic accident . . . or was it? Emperor Domitian has been awarded (or rather, has demanded) yet another Triumph to celebrate two so-called victories. Preparations are going smoothly until one of the men overseeing arrangements for the ce…

read more…

Fiction

The Wicked Cometh

Laura Carlin

‘We have no need to protect ourselves from the bad sort because WE are the bad sort . . .’ SHORTLISTED FOR THE BOOKS ARE MY BAG BREAKTHROUGH AUTHOR AWARD ‘Beguiling’ Stylist ********* The year is 1831. Down murky alleyways, acts of unspeaka…

read more…

Fiction

Songwoman

Ilka Tampke

A stunning historical novel and the sequel to the critically acclaimed Skin, perfect for fans of Outlander and Game of Thrones. One woman’s quest to defend her culture. Haunted by the Roman attack that destroyed her home, Ailia flees to the…

read more…

Fiction

The Red Ribbon

H.B. Lyle

The thrilling follow up to The Irregular: A Different Class of Spy, featuring Wiggins – an ex-soldier who was trained as a child by Sherlock Holmes. Praise for The Irregular ‘H.B. Lyle has found the golden thread between Bond and Holmes’ Gi…

read more…

Fiction

Court of Wolves

Robyn Young

In this sweeping epic novel, which can be read as a completely standalone story or as the sequel to SONS OF THE BLOOD, the New World Rising series opens out into the pageant and power of renaissance Europe.

read more…

Non-fiction

The Escape Artists

Neal Bascomb

Summer, 1918: twenty-nine officers crawled into a 16 inch high, 55 metre tunnel dug only with spoons. This was the culmination of 9 months gruelling toil in oxygen-starved darkness. Of the twenty-nine escapees, just ten would make their way…

read more…

Fiction

The Prince and the Whitechapel Murders

Saul David

'A rattling good yarn… A compelling, sexy hero who could give Cornwell's Sharpe a run for his money' The Times on ZULU HART London 1888: George 'Zulu' Hart is the mixed-race illegitimate son of a Dublin actress and (he…

read more…

Non-fiction

Understanding Arabs

Margaret K. Nydell

For nearly three decades, diplomats, students, business people and governments have relied on Dr. Margaret Nydell's seminal work as the essential guide to comprehending an immensely varied culture. Covering all aspects of Arab life, fro…

read more…

Non-fiction

A Nearly Infallible History of the Reformation

Nick Page

500 years ago, Martin Luther nailed his ideas to a church door – and the Reformation began. Or maybe it was a little more complicated than that. Nick Page brings his skills as an unlicensed historian to bear on this key period in European (…

read more…

Non-fiction

War Stories

Peter Snow, Ann MacMillan

'Highly readable . . . an intimate and varied account of fascinating stories of people at war' History of War War Stories is a fascinating account of ordinary men and women swept up in the turbulence of war. These are the stories -…

read more…