Books > Tag: 20th-century

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Aliquam at porttitor sem. Aliquam erat volutpat. Donec placerat nisl magna, et faucibus arcu condimentum sed. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Aliquam at porttitor sem. Aliquam erat volutpat. Donec placerat nisl magna, et faucibus arcu condimentum sed.

Filter by: All / Fiction / Non-fiction

Fiction

Hearts of Stone

Simon Scarrow

1938. A perfect summer on the Greek island of Lefkas for three young people untroubled by the simmering politics of Europe. Peter, visiting from Germany while his father leads an archaeological dig, has become close friends with locals Andr…

read more…

Non-fiction

Stalin's Englishman: The Lives of Guy Burgess

Andrew Lownie

'One of the great biographies of 2015.' The Times Fully updated edition including recently released information. A Guardian Book of the Year. The Times Best Biography of the Year. Mail on Sunday Biography of the Year. Daily Mail Bio…

read more…

Non-fiction

The Nazi Hunters

Damien Lewis

The Nazi Hunters is the incredible, hitherto untold story of the most secret chapter in the SAS's history. Officially, the world's most elite special forces unit was dissolved at the end of the Second World War, and not reactivated…

read more…

Non-fiction

2017 War With Russia

General Sir Richard Shirreff

Sunday Times Top Ten Bestseller ‘You fail to read this book at your peril’ – Admiral James G Stavridis, US Navy, former Supreme Allied Commander Europe. Closely modelled on his NATO experience of war gaming future conflicts, 2017 War With R…

read more…

Non-fiction

Cricket: The Game of Life

Scyld Berry

Scyld Berry draws on his experiences as a cricket writer of forty years to produce new insights and unfamiliar historical angles on the game, along with moving reflections on episodes from his own life. The author covers a range of themes i…

read more…

Non-fiction

The Arab of the Future

Riad Sattouf

VOLUME 1 IN THE UNFORGETTABLE STORY OF AN EXTRAORDINARY CHILDHOOD A GUARDIAN BOOK OF THE YEAR 2015/2016 | AN OBSERVER GRAPHIC BOOK OF THE YEAR 2016 | A NEW YORK TIMES CRITICS' TOP BOOKS OF 2016 'EXUBERANTLY HERETICAL' 'I tor…

read more…

Fiction

The 14th Colony

Steve Berry

'Berry makes history exciting, and he has written another winner.' Daily Mail The explosive new Cotton Malone thriller by the international bestseller Steve Berry. People say the Cold War is coming back. For some, it never went away…

read more…

Non-fiction

The Modi Effect

Lance Price

How did a 'chai wallah' who sold tea on trains as a boy become Prime Minister of India? On May 16, 2014, Narendra Modi was declared the winner of the largest election ever conducted anywhere in the world, having fought a campaign un…

read more…

Fiction

Dandy Gilver and the Unpleasantness in the Ballroom

Catriona McPherson

A cosy Dandy Gilver mystery set in 1930s Scotland. For fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie. Glasgow,1932, is a city in the grip of dance-fever. Public ballrooms and backstreet dancehalls are thronged every night and c…

read more…

Non-fiction

The Lost Imperialist

Andrew Gailey

Winner of the Elizabeth Longford Prize for Historical Biography 2016 Frederick Hamiton-Temple-Blackwood, 1st Marquess of Dufferin and Ava, enjoyed a glittering career which few could equal. As Viceroy of India and Governor-General of Canada…

read more…