Books > Tag: 20th-century

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Aliquam at porttitor sem. Aliquam erat volutpat. Donec placerat nisl magna, et faucibus arcu condimentum sed. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Aliquam at porttitor sem. Aliquam erat volutpat. Donec placerat nisl magna, et faucibus arcu condimentum sed.

Filter by: All / Fiction / Non-fiction

Non-fiction

Raoul Wallenberg

Ingrid Carlberg

An Honorary Citizen of the U.S.A., and designated as one of the Righteous among the Nations by Israel, Raoul Wallenberg’s heroism in Budapest at the height of the Holocaust saved countless lives, and ultimately cost him his own. A series of…

read more…

Fiction

The Patriot Threat

Steve Berry

A provocative thriller for fans of Dan Brown and David Baldacci, from the top-ten New York Times bestselling author. The 16th Amendment to the Constitution legalized federal income tax, but what if there were problems with the 1913 ratifica…

read more…

Fiction

The Jeweller's Wife

Judith Lennox

1938. As England awaits the outbreak of war, Juliet Winterton journeys from the Mediterranean to the Essex countryside to begin her life as the beautiful young wife of a London jeweller. But beneath her husband's intelligence and ambiti…

read more…

Fiction

Smoke and Mirrors

Elly Griffiths

Brighton, winter 1951. Pantomime season is in full swing on the pier with Max Mephisto starring in Aladdin, but Max's headlines have been stolen by the disappearance ­­of two local children. When they are found dead in the snow, surroun…

read more…

Fiction

Girl Runner

Carrie Snyder

Aganetha Smart was a poor farm girl who could run like the wind, but this was rural Canada in the 1920s when girls didn't run, or dream of the Olympics and they certainly didn't win. Aganetha Smart was about to change all that. Girl…

read more…

Non-fiction

The Gestapo

Frank McDonough

A Daily Telegraph 'Book of the Week' (August 2015) Longlisted for 2016 PEN Hessell-Tiltman Prize Ranked in 100 Best Books of 2015 in the Daily Telegraph Professor Frank McDonough is one of the leading scholars and most popular write…

read more…

Non-fiction

Edith Cavell

Diana Souhami

Edith Cavell was born on 4th December 1865, daughter of the vicar of Swardeston in Norfolk, and shot in Brussels on 12th October 1915 by the Germans for sheltering British and French soldiers and helping them escape over the Belgian border….

read more…

Non-fiction

Lucky Johnny

Johnny Sherwood

In 1938 Johnny Sherwood was a young professional footballer on the brink of an England career, touring the world with the all-star British team the Islington Corinthians. By 1942 he was a soldier surrendering to the Japanese at the siege of…

read more…

Fiction

A Time to Remember

Anna Jacobs

The first book in a heartwarming new Lancashire-based series by beloved and bestselling saga writer Anna Jacobs, set at the end of World War Two. 1945 – the war in Europe is over. It should be a time of utter joy and celebration. Most women…

read more…

Non-fiction

The Churchill Factor

Boris Johnson

'The must-read biography of the year.' Evening Standard 'He writes with gusto… the result is a book that is never boring, genuinely clever … this book sizzles.' The Times 'The point of the Churchill Factor is that on…

read more…