Books > Tag: 20th-century

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Aliquam at porttitor sem. Aliquam erat volutpat. Donec placerat nisl magna, et faucibus arcu condimentum sed. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Aliquam at porttitor sem. Aliquam erat volutpat. Donec placerat nisl magna, et faucibus arcu condimentum sed.

Filter by: All / Fiction / Non-fiction

Non-fiction

Children of the Mill

David Hanson

Channel 4's The Mill captivated viewers with the tales of the lives of the young girls and boys in a northern mill. Focusing on the lives of the apprentices at Quarry Bank Mill, David Hanson's book uses a wealth of first-person sour…

read more…

Non-fiction

The Bletchley Girls

Tessa Dunlop

'Lively…in giving us the daily details of their lives in the women's own voices Dunlop does them and us a fine service' New Statesman 'Dunlop is engaging in her personal approach. Her obvious feminine empathy with the vene…

read more…

Fiction

Dandy Gilver and the Unpleasantness in the Ballroom

Catriona McPherson

A cosy Dandy Gilver mystery set in 1930s Scotland. For fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie. Glasgow,1932, is a city in the grip of dance-fever. Public ballrooms and backstreet dancehalls are thronged every night and c…

read more…

Non-fiction

Abducting a General

Patrick Leigh Fermor

A daring behind-enemy-lines mission from the author of A Time of Gifts and The Broken Road, who was once described by the BBC as 'a cross between Indiana Jones, James Bond and Graham Greene'. Although a story often told, this is the…

read more…

Non-fiction

Taking Command

David Richards

General Sir David Richards is one of the best known British generals of modern times. In 2013 he retired after over forty years of service in the British Army and a career that had seen him rise from junior officer with 20 Commando to Chief…

read more…

Non-fiction

Special Ops Heroes

Michael Ashcroft

Special Ops Heroes tells the extraordinary stories behind Lord Ashcroft's collection of SAS and other Special Forces medals – the largest of its kind in the world. The action-packed stories span some sixty years from the exploits of the…

read more…

Non-fiction

God's Smuggler

Elizabeth Sherill, Brother Andrew, John Sherrill

With over ten million copies sold, God's Smuggler has thrilled and inspired readers for more than forty years. It tells the true story of how a young Dutchman risked his life to bring faith and hope to believers behind the Iron Curtain….

read more…

Fiction

At The Water's Edge

Sara Gruen

A gripping and poignant love story set in a remote village in the Scottish Highlands at the end of the Second World War. 'Unique and impeccably researched… the only fault I can find with this book is that I've already finished it…

read more…

Non-fiction

Judy: A Dog in a Million

Damien Lewis

Judy, a beautiful liver and white English pointer, and the only animal POW of WWII, truly was a dog in a million, cherished and adored by the British, Australian, American and other Allied servicemen who fought to survive alongside her.  Vi…

read more…

Non-fiction

How to Ruin a Queen

Jonathan Beckman

'A hell of a tale and Jonathan Beckman gives it all the verve and swagger it deserves . . . I read it with fascination, delight and frequent snorts of incredulity' The Spectator On 5 September 1785, a trial began in Paris that would…

read more…