Books

Fiction

If historical fiction is your thing then you came to the right place. Here you’ll find the very best stories blending fact and fiction, everything from criminal investigations in Ancient Rome to the survival of love in the shadows of war, historical narratives that bring the past alive in a way nothing else can.

Explore H for History

Fiction

Songwoman

Ilka Tampke

A stunning historical novel and the sequel to the critically acclaimed Skin, perfect for fans of Outlander and Game of Thrones. One woman’s quest to defend her culture. Haunted by the Roman attack that destroyed her home, Ailia flees to the…

read more…

Fiction

The Red Ribbon

H.B. Lyle

The thrilling follow up to The Irregular: A Different Class of Spy, featuring Wiggins – an ex-soldier who was trained as a child by Sherlock Holmes. Praise for The Irregular ‘H.B. Lyle has found the golden thread between Bond and Holmes’ Gi…

read more…

Fiction

The Prince and the Whitechapel Murders

Saul David

'A rattling good yarn… A compelling, sexy hero who could give Cornwell's Sharpe a run for his money' The Times on ZULU HART London 1888: George 'Zulu' Hart is the mixed-race illegitimate son of a Dublin actress and (he…

read more…

Fiction

Court of Wolves

Robyn Young

In this sweeping epic novel, which can be read as a completely standalone story or as the sequel to SONS OF THE BLOOD, the New World Rising series opens out into the pageant and power of renaissance Europe.

read more…

Fiction

The Mercy Seat

Elizabeth H. Winthrop

As the sun begins to set over Louisiana one October day in 1943, a young black man faces the final hours of his life: at midnight, eighteen-year-old Willie Jones will be executed by electric chair for raping a white girl – a crime some beli…

read more…

Fiction

The Iberian Flame

Julian Stockwin

'In Stockwin's hands the sea story will continue to entrance readers across the world' – Guardian 1808. With the Peninsula in turmoil, Napoleon Bonaparte signs a treaty to dismember Portugal and put his brother, Joseph, on the t…

read more…

Fiction

The Baltic Prize

Julian Stockwin

1808. Parted from his new bride, Captain Sir Thomas Kydd is called away to join the Northern Expedition to Sweden, now Britain's only ally in the Baltic. Following the sudden declaration of war by Russia and with the consequent threat o…

read more…

Fiction

The King's Witch

Tracy Borman

Already a great historian, Tracey Borman proves with this thrilling debut novel that she is also a born storyteller. As she helps to nurse the dying Queen Elizabeth, Frances Gorges longs for the fields and ancient woods of her parents'…

read more…

Fiction

The House Between Tides

Sarah Maine

'Scotland's Outer Hebrides provides the sensuous setting for this impressive debut…a beautifully crafted novel.' – Publishers Weekly A captivating story of a crumbling estate in the wilds of Scotland, its century-old secret an…

read more…

Fiction

Should You Ask Me

Marianne Kavanagh

'[An] ingenious page-turner' The Lady 'A delight' Guinevere Glasfurd 'I've come about the bodies. I know who they are.' Mary is eighty-six years old, and she's tired of being quiet. She has a story to tell, a…

read more…