Books

Fiction

If historical fiction is your thing then you came to the right place. Here you’ll find the very best stories blending fact and fiction, everything from criminal investigations in Ancient Rome to the survival of love in the shadows of war, historical narratives that bring the past alive in a way nothing else can.

Explore H for History

Fiction

Witchfinder: The ultimate Cold War spy novel

Andrew Williams

A brilliant novel of espionage and betrayal*** ‘One of Britain’s most accomplished thriller writers’ Daily Mail ‘The most authentic spy novel ever written […] an utterly fascinating account of a very dangerous time in British history when…

read more…

Fiction

The Bone Fire (Oswald de Lacy Book 4)

SD Sykes

The brand new Oswald de Lacy thriller, for fans of C.J. Sansom, Minette Walters and S.J. Parris. ‘Living legends Andrew Taylor and Susanna Gregory; bestselling phenomena SJ Parris and CJ Sansom… a league of extraordinary resurrectionists….

read more…

Fiction

A Capitol Death

Lindsey Davis

A tragic accident . . . or was it? Emperor Domitian has been awarded (or rather, has demanded) yet another Triumph to celebrate two so-called victories. Preparations are going smoothly until one of the men overseeing arrangements for the ce…

read more…

Fiction

The Wicked Cometh

Laura Carlin

‘We have no need to protect ourselves from the bad sort because WE are the bad sort . . .’ SHORTLISTED FOR THE BOOKS ARE MY BAG BREAKTHROUGH AUTHOR AWARD ‘Beguiling’ Stylist ********* The year is 1831. Down murky alleyways, acts of unspeaka…

read more…

Fiction

Songwoman

Ilka Tampke

A stunning historical novel and the sequel to the critically acclaimed Skin, perfect for fans of Outlander and Game of Thrones. One woman’s quest to defend her culture. Haunted by the Roman attack that destroyed her home, Ailia flees to the…

read more…

Fiction

The Red Ribbon

H.B. Lyle

The thrilling follow up to The Irregular: A Different Class of Spy, featuring Wiggins – an ex-soldier who was trained as a child by Sherlock Holmes. Praise for The Irregular ‘H.B. Lyle has found the golden thread between Bond and Holmes’ Gi…

read more…

Fiction

The Prince and the Whitechapel Murders

Saul David

'A rattling good yarn… A compelling, sexy hero who could give Cornwell's Sharpe a run for his money' The Times on ZULU HART London 1888: George 'Zulu' Hart is the mixed-race illegitimate son of a Dublin actress and (he…

read more…

Fiction

Court of Wolves

Robyn Young

In this sweeping epic novel, which can be read as a completely standalone story or as the sequel to SONS OF THE BLOOD, the New World Rising series opens out into the pageant and power of renaissance Europe.

read more…

Fiction

The Mercy Seat

Elizabeth H. Winthrop

As the sun begins to set over Louisiana one October day in 1943, a young black man faces the final hours of his life: at midnight, eighteen-year-old Willie Jones will be executed by electric chair for raping a white girl – a crime some beli…

read more…

Fiction

The Iberian Flame

Julian Stockwin

'In Stockwin's hands the sea story will continue to entrance readers across the world' – Guardian 1808. With the Peninsula in turmoil, Napoleon Bonaparte signs a treaty to dismember Portugal and put his brother, Joseph, on the t…

read more…