Books

Fiction

If historical fiction is your thing then you came to the right place. Here you’ll find the very best stories blending fact and fiction, everything from criminal investigations in Ancient Rome to the survival of love in the shadows of war, historical narratives that bring the past alive in a way nothing else can.

Explore H for History

Fiction

Dandy Gilver and The Reek of Red Herrings

Catriona McPherson

A cosy Dandy Gilver mystery set in 1930s Scotland. For fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie. On the rain-drenched, wave-lashed, wind-battered Banffshire coast, tiny fishing villages perch on ledges which would make a s…

read more…

Fiction

The Good Italian

Stephen Burke

Enzo Secchi, harbourmaster for Massawa, Eritrea's main port, is a loyal Italian colonial servant. He takes pride in running the docks, enjoys the occasional drink with his gregarious friend Salvatore, colonel of the local Italian garris…

read more…

Fiction

The Storm Lord: Twilight of the Celts Book II

M. K. Hume

The legend of King Arthur lives on… Crippled with hunger and weary to the point of collapse, Gareth Minor enters the fortress of Arden to deliver the dire news that Lord Arthur, the Last Dragon, has been captured by barbarians and taken t…

read more…

Fiction

An Appetite for Violets

Martine Bailey

That's how it is for us servants. No one pays you much heed; mostly you're invisible as furniture. Yet you overhear a conversation here, and add a little gossip there. A writing desk lies open and you cannot help but read a paper. T…

read more…