Books

Fiction

If historical fiction is your thing then you came to the right place. Here you’ll find the very best stories blending fact and fiction, everything from criminal investigations in Ancient Rome to the survival of love in the shadows of war, historical narratives that bring the past alive in a way nothing else can.

Explore H for History

Fiction

The Zealot's Bones

D.M. Mark

Two men seeking the bones of a martyr stumble upon the crimes of a devil in the stunning historical crime novel by bestselling author David Mark. Hull, 1849: a city in the grip of a cholera outbreak that sees its poorest citizens cut down b…

read more…

Fiction

The Reluctant Contact

Stephen Burke

The Svalbard archipelago, 1977, Norwegian territory, yet closer to the north pole. Russian engineer Yuri arrives on the last boat to the Soviet mining outpost of Pyramiden, as the Arctic sun disappears for the winter. Yuri still plays by St…

read more…

Fiction

The Prince and the Whitechapel Murders

Saul David

'A rattling good yarn… A compelling, sexy hero who could give Cornwell's Sharpe a run for his money' The Times on ZULU HART London 1888: George 'Zulu' Hart is the mixed-race illegitimate son of a Dublin actress and (he…

read more…

Fiction

Dandy Gilver and a Spot of Toil and Trouble

Catriona McPherson

A cosy Dandy Gilver mystery set in 1930s Scotland. For fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie. 'A delightfully uplifting mystery with a distinctly P.G. Wodehouse-ian feel. Navigating ancient castles, and family feuds…

read more…

Fiction

The Irregular: A Different Class of Spy

H.B. Lyle

'Irresistible' Guardian 'Impressive' Daily Mail 'Captivating' Mick Herron Nominated for the 2018 Best First Novel, Barry Award London 1909 Captain Kell of the War Office knows the Empire is under threat – from Russia…

read more…

Fiction

Crimson and Bone

Marina Fiorato

'A rich jewel of a story, full of desire and danger' – Julie Cohen. A dark tale of love and obsession, perfect for fans of The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock and The Wicked Cometh. London, 1853. Annie Stride has nothing left to live for -…

read more…

Fiction

The Sealwoman's Gift

Sally Magnusson

'A remarkable feat of imagination… I enjoyed and admired it in equal measure' Sarah Perry, author of The Essex Serpent 'A lyrical tale' Stylist 'Engrossing' Psychologies 'Compelling stuff' Good Housekeeping…

read more…

Fiction

The New World

Scott K. Andrews

The epic, thrilling conclusion to the most mind-bending, time-warping series since Doctor Who. Kaz, Dora and Jana – three people from three different time periods, brought together by forces they don't understand, given powers they can…

read more…

Fiction

The Wicked Cometh

Laura Carlin

A Red Magazine February best read . . . Join Hester and Rebekah on a dangerous quest for truth through the darkest streets of 1831 London 'We have no need to protect ourselves from the bad sort because we ARE the bad sort . . .'…

read more…

Fiction

City of Masks

S D Sykes

A brilliantly dark and compelling novel set in Venice from 'the medieval CJ Sansom' (Jeffery Deaver) 1358. Oswald de Lacy, Lord Somershill, is in Venice, awaiting a pilgrim galley to the Holy Land. While the city is under siege from…

read more…