Books

Fiction

If historical fiction is your thing then you came to the right place. Here you’ll find the very best stories blending fact and fiction, everything from criminal investigations in Ancient Rome to the survival of love in the shadows of war, historical narratives that bring the past alive in a way nothing else can.

Explore H for History

Fiction

Persephone

Julian Stockwin

'PERSEPHONE is another shining milepost for Captain Thomas Kydd and his creator, Julian Stockwin' Quarterdeck ******* November 1807. Captain Sir Thomas Kydd must sail to Lisbon to aid the Portuguese Royal Family's evacuation in…

read more…

Fiction

The Third Nero

Lindsey Davis

'Davis's prose is a lively joy, and Flavia's Rome is sinister and gloriously real' The Times on Saturday Flavia Albia's day-old marriage is in trouble – her new husband may be permanently disabled and they have no funds….

read more…

Fiction

Beyond the Wild River

Sarah Maine

From the author of The House Between Tides, comes an atmospheric and stunningly evocative historical novel. Perfect for fans of Sarah Perry's The Essex Serpent. 'Maine writes beautifully' THE TIMES Scotland,1893. Nineteen-year-o…

read more…

Fiction

The Zealot's Bones

D.M. Mark

From Hell, Hull and Halifax, may the Good Lord deliver us. In 1849, Hull is a city forgotten and abandoned; in the grip of a cholera outbreak that sees its poorest citizens cut down by the cartload. Into this world of flame and grief comes…

read more…

Fiction

Onslaught: The Centurions II

Anthony Riches

The author of the bestselling Empire sequence continues his new trilogy: the epic story of the uprising of the Batavi in AD 69. The Rhine frontier has exploded into all-out war. The Batavi cohorts, so recently proud soldiers of Rome, have r…

read more…

Fiction

Betrayal: The Centurions I

Anthony Riches

AD 69: The Rhine frontier has exploded into bloody rebellion, and four centurions who once fought in the same army find themselves on opposite sides of a vicious insurrection. The rebel leader Kivilaz and his Batavi rebels have humbled the…

read more…

Fiction

A Death at Fountains Abbey

Antonia Hodgson

'In a tale that more than matches its predecessors for pace and atmosphere, Hawkins is forced into confrontation with a psychopathic killer…hugely enjoyable' The Sunday Times 'You will burn.' Late spring, 1728. Fresh from…

read more…

Fiction

The Lost Daughter

David Ashton

For fans of Elementary, Ripper Street and Sherlock Holmes – meet Jean Brash, a feisty, self-made woman turned sleuth in murky Victorian Edinburgh where crime and high society meet. Jean Brash is beautiful, intelligent and in her prime. Owne…

read more…

Fiction

He Kills Coppers

Jake Arnott

Jake Arnott's 'mesmerizing, brilliant' (New York Times Book Review) second novel, a literary thriller that delves into corruption on both sides of the law and at the heart of the state. During the long hot summer of 1966, a sens…

read more…

Fiction

The Devil's Paintbrush

Jake Arnott

A fascinating, unusual and seductive historical novel by the bestselling author of The Long Firm. In a Parisian restaurant, Aleister Crowley, the notorious occultist, chances on Major-General Sir Hector Macdonald: once one of the greatest h…

read more…