We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

She Came to Stay

She Came to Stay

‘Secrets and lies, poverty and elegance, old loyalties and new friendships all combine to make Eleni Kyriacou’s debut novel a compelling page-turner’ – Fiona Valpy, bestselling author of The Dressmaker’s Gift

One of Woman & Home‘s Best Historical Fiction Reads of 2020

In a city of strangers, who can you trust?

London, 1952. Dina Demetriou has travelled from Cyprus for a better life. She’s certain that excitement, adventure and opportunity are out there, waiting – if only she knew where to look.

Her passion for clothes and flair for sewing land her a job repairing the glittering costumes at the notorious Pelican Revue. It’s here that she befriends the mysterious and beautiful Bebba.

With her bleached-blonde hair and an appetite for mischief, Bebba is like no Greek Dina has ever met before. She guides Dina around the fashionable shops, bars and clubs of Soho, and Dina finally feels life has begun.

But Bebba has a secret. And as thick smog brings the city to a standstill, the truth emerges with devastating results. Dina’s new life now hangs by a thread. What will be left when the fog finally clears? And will Dina be willing to risk everything to protect her future?

A story of friendship, family, love and loss set against the grimy and glittering streets of fifties Soho. For fans of Kate Furnivall and Rachel Rhys.

Further praise for SHE CAME TO STAY:

‘An atmospheric page-turner perfectly set in the smoke and glitter of a vanished world . . . gripping’ – Erin Kelly, bestselling author of He Said/She Said

Compelling and beautifully observed. Kyriacou brilliantly evokes the violence and the grime beneath the sequins and surface glamour of 1950s Soho’ – Rachel Rhys, bestselling author of Dangerous Crossing

‘I absolutely loved it. A gripping, enthralling story . . . I was completely engrossed‘ – Laura Marshall, bestselling author of Friend Request

‘An absorbing story of friendship, betrayal and resilience’ – Sarah Maine, bestselling author of Beyond the Wild River

‘A gripping, evocative story . . . well researched and utterly convincing. A real gem of a book‘ – Gill Paul, bestselling author of The Lost Daughter

‘An evocative page-turner full of memorable characters. A wonderful debut’ – Jenny Quintana, author of The Missing Girl

Readers are loving SHE CAME TO STAY, too!

‘I can highly recommend this book. You will be hooked from start to finish.’ 5 STARS

‘A cracking storyline packed with secrets, as well as unexpected twists and turns make this, cliche or no, a proper page-turner.’ 5 STARS

‘A brilliant read.’ 5 STARS

‘The plot moves quickly and is gripping. I didn’t want to put the book down but then was sorry to leave the characters and their London haunts behind when I got to the end.’ 5 STARS

‘A really enjoyable read.’ 5 STARS
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 18th February 2021

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781529337693