Books

Here you’ll find all of our wonderful historical fiction and non-fiction books. Use the filters on the right to find the corner of history you’re looking for. Choose the period, genre or history tag that’s most relevant to display books in that category.

Explore H for History

Clear filter

Fiction

The Harrowing

James Aitcheson

Five strangers. Five secrets. No refuge. No turning back. In the aftermath of 1066, a Norman army marches through the North of England: burning, killing and laying waste to everything in its path. The Harrowing has begun. As towns and villa…

read more…

Non-fiction

The Ministry of Ungentlemanly Warfare

Giles Milton

Six gentlemen, one goal – the destruction of Hitler's war machine In the spring of 1939, a top secret organisation was founded in London: its purpose was to plot the destruction of Hitler's war machine through spectacular acts of sa…

read more…

Non-fiction

The Invisible Cross

Andrew Davidson

‘Padre McShane says the reason I was not given a Brigade was for being so outspoken at Loos. He said that if that were so, I wear the invisible cross of military glory.’ Colonel Graham Chaplin, commander of the Cameron Highlanders, wrote le…

read more…

Fiction

The Dead Woman of Deptford

Ann Granger

The sixth Inspector Ben Ross mystery On a cold November night in a Deptford yard, dock worker Harry Parker stumbles upon the body of a dead woman. Inspector Ben Ross is summoned from Scotland Yard to this insalubrious part of town, but no w…

read more…

Non-fiction

Mr Darley's Arabian

Christopher McGrath

In 1704 a bankrupt English merchant sent home the colt he had bought from Bedouin tribesmen near the ruins of Palmyra. Thomas Darley hoped this horse might be the ticket to a new life back in Yorkshire. But he turned out to be far more than…

read more…

Fiction

Motherland

Jo McMillan

Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit meets Goodbye Lenin. ‘I hadn’t expected the Berlin Wall to be clean and white and smooth. It looked more like the edge of the swimming baths than the edge of the Cold War. On the grass of No-man’s Land, fat ra…

read more…

Fiction

The Island

Victoria Hislop

The Island, the acclaimed million-copy No.1 bestseller and winner of Richard & Judy's Summer Read 2006 from Victoria Hislop, is a dramatic tale of four generations, rent by war, illicit love, violence and leprosy, from the thirties, thr…

read more…

Fiction

Sea of Poppies

Amitav Ghosh

At the heart of this epic saga, set just before the Opium Wars, is an old slaving-ship, the Ibis. Its destiny is a tumultuous voyage across the Indian Ocean, its crew a motley array of sailors and stowaways, coolies and convicts. In a time…

read more…

Fiction

The Revelations of Carey Ravine

Debra Daley

A beautiful historical mystery for fans of Sarah Waters, Amitav Ghosh's The Sea of Poppies, and Jamaica Inn. London in the 1770s is bursting with opportunity. It's a city fuelled by new ideas and new money, where everything is for s…

read more…

Fiction

River of Smoke

Amitav Ghosh

In September 1838 a storm blows up on the Indian Ocean and the Ibis, a ship carrying a consignment of convicts and indentured laborers from Calcutta to Mauritius, is caught up in the whirlwind. When the seas settle, five men have disappeare…

read more…