Books

Fiction

If historical fiction is your thing then you came to the right place. Here you’ll find the very best stories blending fact and fiction, everything from criminal investigations in Ancient Rome to the survival of love in the shadows of war, historical narratives that bring the past alive in a way nothing else can.

Explore H for History

Fiction

City of Masks

S D Sykes

A brilliantly dark and compelling novel set in Venice from 'the medieval CJ Sansom' (Jeffery Deaver) 1358. Oswald de Lacy, Lord Somershill, is in Venice, awaiting a pilgrim galley to the Holy Land. While the city is under siege from…

read more…

Fiction

The Baltic Prize

Julian Stockwin

1808. Parted from his new bride, Captain Sir Thomas Kydd is called away to join the Northern Expedition to Sweden, now Britain's only ally in the Baltic. Following the sudden declaration of war by Russia and with the consequent threat o…

read more…

Fiction

Ruler of the Night

David Morrell

The sensational climax to David Morrell's acclaimed Victorian mystery trilogy. In 1855, the first murder on an English train causes a wave of fear and panic. There is no escape from a killer in a closed train carriage… and yet the kil…

read more…

Fiction

The Irregular: A Different Class of Spy

H.B. Lyle

As a boy, he spied for Sherlock Holmes. As a man, he must save the Empire. London 1909: The British Empire seems invulnerable. But Captain Vernon Kell, head of counter-intelligence at the War Office, knows better. In Russia, revolution; in…

read more…

Fiction

The Hamilton Affair

Elizabeth Cobbs

Love Hamilton: An American Musical? You'll adore The Hamilton Affair. THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER War will bring them together. Peace will tear them apart. History will make them immortal . . . Born a bastard and raised an orphan in t…

read more…

Fiction

Persephone

Julian Stockwin

Unputdownable naval action from the master of the sea story – Julian Stockwin returns with the next installment of action from Captain Sir Thomas Kydd. November 1807. Captain Sir Thomas Kydd must sail to Lisbon to aid the Portuguese Royal F…

read more…

Fiction

The Third Nero

Lindsey Davis

Flavia Albia's day-old marriage is in trouble – her new husband may be permanently disabled and they have no funds. So when Palace officials ask her to help expose a plotter in their midst she is obliged to accept their commission. The…

read more…

Fiction

Beyond the Wild River

Sarah Maine

From the author of The House Between Tides, comes an atmospheric and stunningly evocative historical novel. Perfect for fans of Sarah Perry's The Essex Serpent. 'Maine writes beautifully' THE TIMES Scotland,1893. Nineteen-year-o…

read more…

Fiction

Betrayal: The Centurions I

Anthony Riches

AD 69: The Rhine frontier has exploded into bloody rebellion, and four centurions who once fought in the same army find themselves on opposite sides of a vicious insurrection. The rebel leader Kivilaz and his Batavi rebels have humbled the…

read more…