Books

Fiction

If historical fiction is your thing then you came to the right place. Here you’ll find the very best stories blending fact and fiction, everything from criminal investigations in Ancient Rome to the survival of love in the shadows of war, historical narratives that bring the past alive in a way nothing else can.

Explore H for History

Fiction

Rules of Civility

Amor Towles

'Fabulous' Observer 'Achingly stylish' Guardian 'Irresistible' Daily Telegraph 'Gripping' The Sunday Times In a jazz bar on the last night of 1937, watching a quartet because she couldn't afford to see th…

read more…

Fiction

The Baltic Prize

Julian Stockwin

1808. Parted from his new bride, Captain Sir Thomas Kydd is called away to join the Northern Expedition to Sweden, now Britain's only ally in the Baltic. Following the sudden declaration of war by Russia and with the consequent threat o…

read more…

Fiction

The Tower is Full of Ghosts Today

Alison Weir

The Tower is Full of Ghosts Today by historian Alison Weir is an e-short and companion piece to the Sunday Times bestseller Anne Boleyn: A King’s Obsession, the second novel in the spellbinding series about Henry VIII’s queens. Jo, historia…

read more…

Fiction

The Hamilton Affair

Elizabeth Cobbs

Love Hamilton: An American Musical? You'll adore The Hamilton Affair. THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER War will bring them together. Peace will tear them apart. History will make them immortal . . . Born a bastard and raised an orphan in t…

read more…

Fiction

Persephone

Julian Stockwin

'PERSEPHONE is another shining milepost for Captain Thomas Kydd and his creator, Julian Stockwin' Quarterdeck ******* November 1807. Captain Sir Thomas Kydd must sail to Lisbon to aid the Portuguese Royal Family's evacuation in…

read more…

Fiction

Beyond the Wild River

Sarah Maine

From the author of The House Between Tides, comes an atmospheric and stunningly evocative historical novel. Perfect for fans of Sarah Perry's The Essex Serpent. 'Maine writes beautifully' THE TIMES Scotland,1893. Nineteen-year-o…

read more…

Fiction

The Third Nero

Lindsey Davis

'Davis's prose is a lively joy, and Flavia's Rome is sinister and gloriously real' The Times on Saturday Flavia Albia's day-old marriage is in trouble – her new husband may be permanently disabled and they have no funds….

read more…

Fiction

Onslaught: The Centurions II

Anthony Riches

The author of the bestselling Empire sequence continues his new trilogy: the epic story of the uprising of the Batavi in AD 69. The Rhine frontier has exploded into all-out war. The Batavi cohorts, so recently proud soldiers of Rome, have r…

read more…

Fiction

Betrayal: The Centurions I

Anthony Riches

AD 69: The Rhine frontier has exploded into bloody rebellion, and four centurions who once fought in the same army find themselves on opposite sides of a vicious insurrection. The rebel leader Kivilaz and his Batavi rebels have humbled the…

read more…

Fiction

The Zealot's Bones

D.M. Mark

From Hell, Hull and Halifax, may the Good Lord deliver us. In 1849, Hull is a city forgotten and abandoned; in the grip of a cholera outbreak that sees its poorest citizens cut down by the cartload. Into this world of flame and grief comes…

read more…