We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Finished The Mirror and the Light? Read on to delve deeper…

Many historical fiction fans in their thousands have this month been reading The Mirror and the Light by Hilary Mantel, the final book in her remarkable recreation of the life of Thomas Cromwell that, in this book, follows him right up the steps of the scaffold.


But what to read next? For those anxious not to leave the Tudor court just yet, we have some recommended reading for you.



Thomas Cromwell by Tracy Borman


‘This deeply researched and grippingly written biography brings Cromwell to life and exposes the Henrician court in all its brutal, glittering splendour.’ Kate Williams, Independent


Historian Tracy Borman tells the story of the real Wolf Hall in this definitive biography of Thomas Cromwell, Henry VIII’s most trusted servant. This revised edition includes a new chapter on ‘Thomas Cromwell’s London’.


The Seeker Series by S.G. Maclean 


London, 1654. Oliver Cromwell is at the height of his power and has declared himself Lord Protector. Yet he has many enemies, at home and abroad.


London is a complex web of spies and merchants, priests and soldiers, exiles and assassins. One of the web’s most fearsome spiders is Damian Seeker, agent of the Lord Protector. No one knows where Seeker comes from, who his family is, or even his real name. All that is known of him for certain is that he is utterly loyal to Cromwell, and that nothing can be long hidden from him.A historical thriller series featuring Damian Seeker, one of Cromwell’s most trusted and feared protectors.


Murder, treachery and sedition await Captain Damian Seeker in this gripping historical thriller series for fans of CJ Sansom and Rory Clements.


“S.G. MacLean has cemented her reputation as one of the best writers of historical crime” – The Times


Anne Boleyn: A King’s Obsession by Alison Weir


The second in Alison Weir’s Six Tudor Queens series.


The young woman who changed the course of history. Fresh from the palaces of Burgundy and France, Anne Boleyn draws attention at the English Court, embracing the play of courtly love. But when the King commands, nothing is ever a game. Yet Anne has a spirit worthy of a crown – and the crown is what she seeks, at any price. And as she embarks on her perilous course, a kingdom risks being torn apart.


History tells us why she died.

This powerful novel shows her as she lived.



Also available for pre-order now is the fifth novel in the series, Kathryn Howard: The Tainted Queen. It publishes on the 14th May and you can pre-order the Waterstones Exclusive Edition here: