Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Lone Warrior (Jack Lark, Book 4)

The Lone Warrior (Jack Lark, Book 4)

Jack Lark, once the Scarlet Thief, is back in The Lone Warrior by Paul Fraser Collard – and he’s about to march right into the bubbling centre of the Indian Mutiny. This series is perfect for fans of Conn Iggulden and Bernard Cornwell and ‘evokes the horror of that era with great brio. Enthralling’ (The Times)

Jack Lark, once the Scarlet Thief, has fought hard for his freedom. But will he risk it all to do the right thing?

Bombay, 1857. India is simmering with discontent, and Jack Lark, honourably discharged from the British Army, aims to take the first ship back to England. But before he leaves, he cannot resist the adventure of helping a young woman escape imprisonment in a gaming house. He promises to escort Aamira home, but they arrive in Delhi just as the Indian Mutiny explodes.

As both sides commit horrific slaughter and the siege of Delhi begins, Jack realises that despite the danger he cannot stand by and watch. At heart, he is still a soldier…

The Lone Warrior is a scintillating tale of battle and courage from the author of The Scarlet Thief.

Praise for Paul Fraser Collard:

‘I love a writer who wears his history lightly enough for the story he’s telling to blaze across the pages like this. Jack Lark is an unforgettable new hero’ Anthony Riches

‘Sharpe fans will be delighted to welcome a swashbuckling new hero to follow… Marvellous fun’ Peterborough Telegraph

‘A confident, rich and exciting novel that gave me all the ingredients I would want for a historical adventure of the highest order’ For Winter Nights

‘It felt accurate, it felt real, it felt alive… The battles had me hooked, riveted to the page, there were times when I was almost as breathless as the exhausted soldiers’ Parmenion Books
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 13th July 2016

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781472237682

Reviews

Collard ... evokes the horror of that era with great brio. Enthralling
The Times
This series never disappoints, it delights, it entertains, it thrills the reader
Parmenion Books
Collard... does a great job of evoking the intense heat, mystery, splendour and poverty of mid-19th-century India. You can almost taste it
For Winter Nights